Bread and Butter Pickles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
There is a difference in pickles and cucumbers. Pickles are now what we see in the produce department described as salad pickles. These are what are used in commercial pickling. They have a smaller seed and a light green tender skin. Over 3 to 4 inches would not be used. Cucumbers are the ones we see in the grocery produce department and have a dark green smooth skin about 7 to 9 inches long. Cucumbers have a larger seed and used for slicing such as in cucumbers and sour cream salad or cucumber sandwiches.I would not use cucumbers for pickling unless they were very immature and not over 5 inches long. Not found in grocery stores. This is confusing I know but take it from a old pickle picker the two can't be confused if seen side by side. The two are as different as a watermelon and a squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
yummy, everyone loves them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Yes....Very good...I just rinsed the vegies. Would be nice if there was a weight associated with the cucumbers, that would be really, really, really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This has become my go-to sweet pickle recipe. A word of advice: I had to rinse my cucumbers after salting them. Otherwise, they were waaaaay to salty, and the rinse didn't seem to negatively affect the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Adams
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
These are fantastic! Had lots of cukes and made this recipe...loved it and made enough to last for a year! I can tell this is going to be a favorite to make every summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cari Wensley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Love bread & butter pickles - but what I had was an abundance of green tomatoes - mostly small, about 2-3 inch diameter & I wanted to make some bread & butter green tomato pickles. I followed this recipe, except for ...I sliced up 5 pints of tomatoes, 1 red pepper, 2 thick slices sweet onion, cut the salt to 1/8 cup, used a tray of large ices cubes while they sat for 3 hours; after heating back to a boil I used a slotted spoon to fill 7 - 1/2 pint (jelly size) jars, filled with brine, sealed and gave them a a 10 minute boil. I think they are GREAT! and my first gifted jar got a good review, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I typically don't care for bread and butter pickles bought at store... But I'm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Very good bread and butter pickles. Had to increase the vinegar, sugar, and spices by 50 percent to get enough liquid for safe canning. My pickling cukes were larger than normal this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Old Orchard Beach, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I have tried this recipe. Its great! I am just wondering can I leave this out of the refrigerator so we can eat them all year?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kedoody
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is a great recipe! It was my first attempt at making pickles and I am so happy. I thought the tips about adding ice were great. My pickles are super crisp and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States