Bread and Butter Pickles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2015
I didn't t change a thing and they are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LLongworth
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
This recipe works so well and they turn out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
These turned out really good! Easy to prepare. I didn't add the green peppers (neither of us really like them). Per several reviews I used CANNING salt instead of regular salt and also topped the cuke/onion/garlic/salt mixture with ice to make them crispy (and it seemed to work!!) I let that mixture cure for about 5 hours, drained and slightly rinsed, then added to the hot vinegar mixture. I got 6 1/2 pints. All of the jars sealed perfectly too! Definitely going to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Henrikson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
This was my first EVER canning of "Anything" & I must say it was VERY EASY ! However, I read a review prior to attempting this & wish I would have listened....they are way too salty for my taste buds. Next time I will either CUT BACK ON THE SALT & RINSE OR BOTH! I will make these again with this recipe and think they will be perfect minus some Salt. Thanks for the easy & helpful recipe especially for a first timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
Great pickles - full of flavor. I made some minor changes - I lowered the amount of sugar so it equaled the amount of vinegar and they are still plenty sweet. In doing that I ended up with a little less liquid than needed form my 10 pint jars. So I'd suggest 4C vinegar and 4C sugar. I also spiced it up with a little bit of hot peppers and some ground ginger. I also finished them in a hot water bath for 10-15 minutes. Overall, beautiful pickles with a fantastic flavor. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
Cut sugar to 3 1/2 cups, and water bath canned them. Came out fabulously! Nice and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharms70

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
This recipe is amazing! I kicked it up a notch by adding 3 habanero peppers! I like my pickles spicy! I can't wait to add these pickles to a juicy beef burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
I have a picture, but this site is pickier than my current comp allows. I will times-and-a-half the juice recipe next time, as I prefer more juice. At any rate, this recipe is closer to the pickles I made with my grandmother as a child than any I've ever found! My kitchen smells like home. Can't wait to make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wbanchero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Photo by Lee
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
I followed this recipe and got five quarts and a little extra. I used cucumbers that were a small size. I had just enough liquid. They are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee
Living In: Plainville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
These are the best bread and butter pickles I've ever eaten. I didn't see anything about ice in the recipe, but I let the sliced cukes, and other veggies and salt soak in ice water for 3 hours. I think this made them crisper. Just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States