Bread and Butter Pickles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I love this recipe. Very good. I did put the vegetables in a salt and ice bath for 2 hours and rinsed before moving to the next step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I put a teaspoon of crushed peppers in one jar and made the other as directed. Both were very good BUT the spicy one disappeared much more quickly. They were so easy to make .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
These are by far the best pickles I have ever made or eaten. Excellent!! My husband eats them like candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I think you don't need to use ice unless you are going to let the cucumbers sit out for more than 2 hours. Some people let them sit overnight, so they put them in the fridge or keep them cool with ice. After the sitting time, all the salt should be washed off them before canning. A 10 min boiling water bath will preserve them for at least a year if the jars seal properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
My family loves these! They are less sweet than grocery store b&b and crunchier. My husband who is not usually a fan of b&b likes these almost as much as dills now. :) I made mine in lengthwise slices so that they could be used along with the onions and bell peppers as sandwich dressings. Some things that I wanted to touch on that will clear up some of the confusion about the recipe, you MUST save the juices that come out of the cucumbers when soaking in salt and you cannot reduce the amount of salt because what you are doing is creating a balanced brine. If the brine is not the correct volume of salt/sugar/vinegar and water they will not cure or be safe for canning. The reason that some are finding the recipe too salty is that it is CRITICAL to use canning salt. Canning salt has a different volume per measure than table salt or any other. So you if you use the recommended measure in table salt instead, you are adding WAY more than you need. I did hot water bath can my pickles, you can find the instructions for how long on pick your own.com How long you do it for depends on your size jar and altitude. Hope that helps someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I think is the best ever! I wanted something like a yum yum pickle & this delivers. I drained & rinsed well after 2 1/2 hrs, because of comments about the pickles being too salty, and processed 8 pts and 1 qt in a 250 oven for10 mins. All sealed and are lovely and crunchy - reviewers are right, you can eat right away. I didn't find them too salty with major rinsing. Thanks Dave for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I just finished making these, and all I can say is Yummm! I made half the recipe, forgot to put in the bell peppers, but they are delicious anyway. The cloves add a special flavor. Also, I rinsed the pickles a long time to get rid of as much salt as possible. Thanks, Dorothy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
LOVE this recipe! Just made some today and it was super easy. They taste delish!! I made it just as the recipe called for. Excellent. I plan to make them again for family for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
These are great pickles. I just went a little light on the sugar. They are perfect and really easy to make. And the onions and peppers in the mix are great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I'm not sure what happened...apparently everyone else loves these, but I did not. I feel like the amount of tumeric is a misprint, because my pickle brine is orange. Also, the pickles taste solely of cloves. I'm super sad that I wasted a bunch of home grown cucumber for this recipe. I will never use it again. I wish I could find the recipe I used last summer...it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Carolyn’s KOOL-AID Pickles

Give ordinary pickles bright color and add fruity sweetness to the tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States