Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This recipe did not work for me at all. There was too little bread, too much egg and in the glazing there was WAY too much sugar. I would increase the bread and decrease the eggs and sugar amounts. On a texture level it felt more like creme brulee, instead of bread pudding...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is a good bread pudding, but I chose to add/change some ingredients and "tweaked" it until I liked the end result. I used 4 cups of cubed Jamaican Hard Dough Bread, a bread that is very dense and doesn't become soggy easily. I only used 3 eggs, instead of 4, and I added 1/2 cup raisins, 1/2 tsp. ginger, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1 tsp. cinnamon, as well as 1 tsp. rum extract (in addition to the 1 tsp. vanilla.) I baked it in the water bath exactly as instructed, but the pudding was still very mushy at 60 minutes. I took it out of the water bath and baked it in a dry oven for 15 more minutes. The next time I use this recipe, I am going to bake it in a dry oven with no water bath. As for the sauce, I used 3/4 cup half and half and reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup. I added 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1 tsp. rum extract (in addition to the vanilla.) I also added 1 tsp. flour to the sugar before blending it in the hot milk and melted butter. The flour gave the sauce more "body" and it wasn't so runny. I will definitely make this recipe again, but will bake it in a dry oven and will use my variations. Thanks, MIEN, for a good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JePeuxCuisiner

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I was so disappointed that this recipe turned out poorly. I doubled the recipe to serve a larger group. My only recipe adjustments were to add two extra cups of bread cubes as others had recommended (8 instead of 6 for the doubled recipe), toss the bread cubes with 2 tsp of cinnamon and increase the baking time by 15 minutes since I was using a 9 x 13 glass dish. It was beautifully golden brown on the top but the custardy bottom was steamed mush at best. Even after baking it another 25 minutes without the water bath, the custard still did not set up well and smelled way too eggy for anyone here to try it again. I am used to a more traditional less eggy-custard bread pudding I suppose. I should have known better because a ratio of 3 cups of bread cubes (dry) to 4 cups of milk and 4 eggs (wet) would produce a very "wet" bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was delicious. I followed other reviewers and added 1 tsp. cinnamon and only 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. (nutmeg has such a strong flavor), I didn't want it to be overpowering, and I'm glad that I only added the 1/2 tsp. Came out very well. I also increased the amount of bread from 3 cups to 4 cups as suggested by other reviewers. I did do the water bath. First time at making bread pudding, I wish I had made this long ago. Thanks Mien for the recipe. It was very delicious. The additional spices really called for raisins to be added. I might try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I'm just rating the sauce on this recipe because I have a staple bread pudding recipe on this site and wanted to try it with some sauce. The sauce is awesome and got high raves from the husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
For me, this recipe also has too much custard to bread ratio. I added more bread and also some cinnamon. Love the sauce! Brown sugar instead of white for the sauce makes a wonderful dark, rich caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Ive made this recipe several times, I change things in it. One time I add cinnimon another I use nutmeg.. 2 sweet cut back the sugar not sweet enough add more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I followed other readers advice and put in 4 C of bread cubes (calabrese) instead of 3, and I'm happy with it! I also left the crust on, and I really liked that contrast in the texture... if I hadn't, I think it would have been TOO pudding-y for me. I left it in the oven for about 10 extra minutes, sprinkled raisins on top of half, and I also sprinkled cinnamon on top as well. The cream for the topping is to DIE for - I would've probably given the cake a 4 without it... my mom (who wasn't sure about the soaking the bread without the sugar in the milk) was a big fan too! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UniCook
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Very good bread pudding, I added nutmeg & cinnamon because my husband really likes that spice combination. Sauce was heavenly!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vavseba

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I haven't tried the bread pudding but I use Bread Pudding 1 recipe and use this sauce for the topping. The sauce is perfect for the other bread pudding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States