Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is a good bread pudding, but I chose to add/change some ingredients and "tweaked" it until I liked the end result. I used 4 cups of cubed Jamaican Hard Dough Bread, a bread that is very dense and doesn't become soggy easily. I only used 3 eggs, instead of 4, and I added 1/2 cup raisins, 1/2 tsp. ginger, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1 tsp. cinnamon, as well as 1 tsp. rum extract (in addition to the 1 tsp. vanilla.) I baked it in the water bath exactly as instructed, but the pudding was still very mushy at 60 minutes. I took it out of the water bath and baked it in a dry oven for 15 more minutes. The next time I use this recipe, I am going to bake it in a dry oven with no water bath. As for the sauce, I used 3/4 cup half and half and reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup. I added 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1 tsp. rum extract (in addition to the vanilla.) I also added 1 tsp. flour to the sugar before blending it in the hot milk and melted butter. The flour gave the sauce more "body" and it wasn't so runny. I will definitely make this recipe again, but will bake it in a dry oven and will use my variations. Thanks, MIEN, for a good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JePeuxCuisiner

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I was so disappointed that this recipe turned out poorly. I doubled the recipe to serve a larger group. My only recipe adjustments were to add two extra cups of bread cubes as others had recommended (8 instead of 6 for the doubled recipe), toss the bread cubes with 2 tsp of cinnamon and increase the baking time by 15 minutes since I was using a 9 x 13 glass dish. It was beautifully golden brown on the top but the custardy bottom was steamed mush at best. Even after baking it another 25 minutes without the water bath, the custard still did not set up well and smelled way too eggy for anyone here to try it again. I am used to a more traditional less eggy-custard bread pudding I suppose. I should have known better because a ratio of 3 cups of bread cubes (dry) to 4 cups of milk and 4 eggs (wet) would produce a very "wet" bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was delicious. I followed other reviewers and added 1 tsp. cinnamon and only 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. (nutmeg has such a strong flavor), I didn't want it to be overpowering, and I'm glad that I only added the 1/2 tsp. Came out very well. I also increased the amount of bread from 3 cups to 4 cups as suggested by other reviewers. I did do the water bath. First time at making bread pudding, I wish I had made this long ago. Thanks Mien for the recipe. It was very delicious. The additional spices really called for raisins to be added. I might try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I'm just rating the sauce on this recipe because I have a staple bread pudding recipe on this site and wanted to try it with some sauce. The sauce is awesome and got high raves from the husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
For me, this recipe also has too much custard to bread ratio. I added more bread and also some cinnamon. Love the sauce! Brown sugar instead of white for the sauce makes a wonderful dark, rich caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Ive made this recipe several times, I change things in it. One time I add cinnimon another I use nutmeg.. 2 sweet cut back the sugar not sweet enough add more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I followed other readers advice and put in 4 C of bread cubes (calabrese) instead of 3, and I'm happy with it! I also left the crust on, and I really liked that contrast in the texture... if I hadn't, I think it would have been TOO pudding-y for me. I left it in the oven for about 10 extra minutes, sprinkled raisins on top of half, and I also sprinkled cinnamon on top as well. The cream for the topping is to DIE for - I would've probably given the cake a 4 without it... my mom (who wasn't sure about the soaking the bread without the sugar in the milk) was a big fan too! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UniCook
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Very good bread pudding, I added nutmeg & cinnamon because my husband really likes that spice combination. Sauce was heavenly!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vavseba

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I haven't tried the bread pudding but I use Bread Pudding 1 recipe and use this sauce for the topping. The sauce is perfect for the other bread pudding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was my first bread pudding and it was yummy. I can't speak for other bread puddings but this one was very custardy. I think that the base without the bread would be good on its own or with the addition of coconut. It was good both warm and cold but I prefer it cold while I think my DH prefers warm. I did make the sauce; I added a couple of spoonfuls over the top and then drizzled a spoon on each serving. IMO you don’t need the sauce, it makes it a bit too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States