Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I looked at a number of recipes and did not read any of the reviews! The bread pudding itself was out of this world. Delicious, yummy and delectable. How many ways can one say "yummy"? I made the pudding according to the recipe. What brought me to even consider making bread pudding, a usual scourge of foodies as am I, was that I had a bunch of French bread in my freezer a bit longer than usual and I just thought that a bread pudding would be a way to salvage it. Well, the pudding was perfect. For my "sauce," I just followed a whipped cream recipe and lightly whipped the cream so that I could pour it on the hot bread pudding. It was, indeed, to die for. My dear friend also loves it and it was her first time ever having bread pudding. Oh, I also live in Viet Nam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anyse Joslin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Mine looked great just like the one in the picture, but the bottom was basically saccharine scrambled egg mush, which was pretty gross. I salvaged the top which wasn't too bad, but this recipe needs some pretty heavy modification if it's going to turn out right. Less eggs, more bread. I'd recommend using a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I didn't have enough milk and tried a crazy mixture....I had powdered coffee mate (vanilla caramel) and mixed it with water. This with the two cups of milk I had turned out great! Since it was already flavored, I didn't use any additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Luvgod is wrong. This is absolutely THE best bread pudding recipe I've ever made or had. the only change I made was I added a dash of Nutmeg. I didn't make the sauce. I got lazy and pulled some caramel ice cream topping out of my frig and added Capt Morgan rum. heated it a bit and mixed the rum with a whisk. YUMMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is a great recipe. I will add maybe some cinnamon and some nutmeg to the next try, but this is an excellent basic recipe!! I have experimented with a little less sugar in the pudding itself and it worked really well. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I tried this twice and it didn't turn out. I cooked it longer as suggested, added more bread the second time with additional cooking time again. Didn't help. What could I have done wrong? I really want to make this dessert for my boyfriend as it is his favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nettles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I've been using my own recipe for bread pudding for years now, misplaced it and needed another. I made my pudding from this recipe and I'm glad to say that I lost my old one. This is an easy, tasty recipe. I have some preferences with bread pudding, starting with a sweet bread ( Portuguese is best), adding a fruit ( none handy this time) and always using cinn and sugar. You can't skip the water bath. That's what makes the "custard" set. I haven't scalded milk since the 70's and the recipe still works fine. Enjoy it and Thanks for Sharing Mein
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ibbotson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Loved it...simple easy and quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I also made this yesterday. The flavor was perfect! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This was awesome! The best bread pudding recipe I've tried. I will definitely be making this again. I followed the recipe exactly except for the following. I used 1/2c sugar plus 1/4c spoonable Splenda. I added 1T cinnamon and substituted 1/2c heavy cream for 1/2c of the milk. I also used the larger 8x11 pan, which was a good fit. Mine was almost too sweet while still warm but was perfect chilled. Both taste and texture were fabulous, so much so that I didn't even bother with the sauce - maybe next time. Unlike most that I've tried this one did not have any visible bread chunks, was like pudding or custard. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States