Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I am always asked to make this again...there is never enough! I used 5 cups fresh french bread, cut out one of the eggs, and did what an earlier reviewer suggested: use half brown sugar and half white sugar, and I used half milk and half cream. I also sprinkled some raisins on top as an after thought. It turned out great because the people who don't eat raisins can just pick them off instead of digging for them. I used a regular 8x13 brownie pan on just my oven rack, no water bath, reduced the temp and baked for well over an hour. (If I even get a hint of egg taste, I won't eat it...this doesn't taste like eggs.)Marvelous recipe! I always bake it when the kids are sleeping and hide it so I don't have to share. I'm greedy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
Awesome recipe. The sauce is definitely a winner and should be used warm. I added cinnamon and nutmeg to bread pudding and also used nutmeg in the sauce. Incredible! Cooks well not in a water bath too, just lower the heat a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUREN003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jamestown, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KCA909
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
I've been using this recipe for 6+ yrs & it is my most requested recipe. I make it for comfort food. It is a custard-like pudding, not thick & dry (although I do add a little extra bread. I use unsliced Italian or french bread with crust removed cut or torn in lrg. squares. I add 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and hi-quality fresh vanilla and unsalted butter. This always needs to cook longer than the 1 hour called for. I now use a glass dish so that I can see precisely when it is done and not overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
Before I made this recipe I read all the comments, so instead of using an 8x8 I used an 8x11 pan. The pudding was still moist but not watery. We loved it!!! The sauce was perfect, did not change a thing!! Thank you for sharing, this will be added to my favorites and it will be part of our family recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra Yaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
This was the first bread pudding I've ever made. I took it to work and my co-workers loved it. My supervisor said it was the best thing he had put in his mouth in a long time. I used raisin bread and added a couple of tablespoons of bourbon to the sauce -- Good work Missi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I did add 1 tsp. nutmeg and 1 tsp. cinnamon to the bread pudding. Used french bread (approximately four cups). Will probably eliminate crust of french bread. Pudding was GREAT...sauce was GREAT without any additions to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This bread pudding is the BEST ever! My new favorite recipe! Since I didn't use the full carton of heavy cream (the recipe calls for a 1/2 cup) I whipped what was left into whip cream to use on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is a nice, moist bread pudding. Putting the bread in boiling milk prevents having the chunks of dry bread that sometimes occur with other bread puddings. I added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg, skipped the water bath, and omitted the sauce (I was serving it for lunch, not dessert and wanted to avoid all that sugar and fat). The family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
i have never had bread pudding b4 and i dont like rice pudding (b-cause of the texture) but this was very yummy! the sauce is FABULOUS! i used day old cinnamon bread and sprinkled nutmeg on top b4 i baked it. i was a little daunted by the water-bath technique, but the pudding was firm and custardy, not soggy and gross, thanks to the water-bath (i think). it's a very christmas-y tasting dish. BUT VERY SWEET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This recipe is absolutely wonderful. I have made it a couple of times already with different flavored extracts for the sauce and it is wonderful. I have used lemon, rum, and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States