Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
For me, this recipe also has too much custard to bread ratio. I added more bread and also some cinnamon. Love the sauce! Brown sugar instead of white for the sauce makes a wonderful dark, rich caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Ive made this recipe several times, I change things in it. One time I add cinnimon another I use nutmeg.. 2 sweet cut back the sugar not sweet enough add more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I followed other readers advice and put in 4 C of bread cubes (calabrese) instead of 3, and I'm happy with it! I also left the crust on, and I really liked that contrast in the texture... if I hadn't, I think it would have been TOO pudding-y for me. I left it in the oven for about 10 extra minutes, sprinkled raisins on top of half, and I also sprinkled cinnamon on top as well. The cream for the topping is to DIE for - I would've probably given the cake a 4 without it... my mom (who wasn't sure about the soaking the bread without the sugar in the milk) was a big fan too! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UniCook
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Very good bread pudding, I added nutmeg & cinnamon because my husband really likes that spice combination. Sauce was heavenly!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vavseba

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I haven't tried the bread pudding but I use Bread Pudding 1 recipe and use this sauce for the topping. The sauce is perfect for the other bread pudding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was my first bread pudding and it was yummy. I can't speak for other bread puddings but this one was very custardy. I think that the base without the bread would be good on its own or with the addition of coconut. It was good both warm and cold but I prefer it cold while I think my DH prefers warm. I did make the sauce; I added a couple of spoonfuls over the top and then drizzled a spoon on each serving. IMO you don’t need the sauce, it makes it a bit too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I made this for my mom and she loved it. I choose it because there is no cinamon or nutmeg in it. It is sweet and creamy. You can compare it to a baked french toast. Next time I might try putting some type of fruit in it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I had never made bread pudding so this was a first for me. Let me tell you that this recipe ROCKS!! It is the best bread pudding I have ever had! The sauce that you pour over it is absolutely decadent! This one is a definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayweee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I made just the sauce from this recipe and it was delicious. The sauce wasn't thick enough after cooking it for the original 3 minutes. So, I cooked it about 3 minutes longer than it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I used the sauce from this recipe with another recipe for the bread. The sauce is delicious, although I'll probably lower the amount of sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States