Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Very yummy. I had to cut the recipe in half because I only had 2 eggs. However, I had 4 whole wheat hot dog buns that needed to be used (this amounted to about 6 cups of bread pieces; I just tore up the bread instead of cubing it). I decided to use all 6 cups even though I was using 1/2 of the other ingredients because other reviewers said the pudding was really soggy. I baked it for 1hr, without the water bath, in a 7x11 dish. I thought it turned out great with just the right amount of custard feel to it. I also added a tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, and used mostly brown sugar in the pudding mixture. The sauce is what really makes it awesome though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
The sauce was really good. Would not change anything in the sauce. The bread pudding was really soggy. I even baked it an additional hour without the water bath & it made no difference. I would try this recipe again with less milk & more bread. I also added 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg & 1/2 cup raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndoeGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
It's hard to review a recipe that you ended up changing alot. I can't tell you if the original recipe is 5 star, but the result I ended up with was really good! I had leftover scones I needed to use up and used those in place of the bread cubes. I used half white, half brown sugar and added cinnamon and nutmeg. The result was unlike anything I've had before! It was "custardy" but the scones gave it a shortcake-type texture. I served it with the yummy sauce and fresh strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy's Personal Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
fantastic! I used challah and it was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This bread pudding is yummy! I made it with half chocolate bread and half french bread. The chocolate bread is sweet enough that you don't need the sauce- unless you are a sugar fiend! It's really custardy and creamy. I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This recipe did not work for me at all. There was too little bread, too much egg and in the glazing there was WAY too much sugar. I would increase the bread and decrease the eggs and sugar amounts. On a texture level it felt more like creme brulee, instead of bread pudding...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is a good bread pudding, but I chose to add/change some ingredients and "tweaked" it until I liked the end result. I used 4 cups of cubed Jamaican Hard Dough Bread, a bread that is very dense and doesn't become soggy easily. I only used 3 eggs, instead of 4, and I added 1/2 cup raisins, 1/2 tsp. ginger, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1 tsp. cinnamon, as well as 1 tsp. rum extract (in addition to the 1 tsp. vanilla.) I baked it in the water bath exactly as instructed, but the pudding was still very mushy at 60 minutes. I took it out of the water bath and baked it in a dry oven for 15 more minutes. The next time I use this recipe, I am going to bake it in a dry oven with no water bath. As for the sauce, I used 3/4 cup half and half and reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup. I added 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1 tsp. rum extract (in addition to the vanilla.) I also added 1 tsp. flour to the sugar before blending it in the hot milk and melted butter. The flour gave the sauce more "body" and it wasn't so runny. I will definitely make this recipe again, but will bake it in a dry oven and will use my variations. Thanks, MIEN, for a good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JePeuxCuisiner

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I was so disappointed that this recipe turned out poorly. I doubled the recipe to serve a larger group. My only recipe adjustments were to add two extra cups of bread cubes as others had recommended (8 instead of 6 for the doubled recipe), toss the bread cubes with 2 tsp of cinnamon and increase the baking time by 15 minutes since I was using a 9 x 13 glass dish. It was beautifully golden brown on the top but the custardy bottom was steamed mush at best. Even after baking it another 25 minutes without the water bath, the custard still did not set up well and smelled way too eggy for anyone here to try it again. I am used to a more traditional less eggy-custard bread pudding I suppose. I should have known better because a ratio of 3 cups of bread cubes (dry) to 4 cups of milk and 4 eggs (wet) would produce a very "wet" bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was delicious. I followed other reviewers and added 1 tsp. cinnamon and only 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. (nutmeg has such a strong flavor), I didn't want it to be overpowering, and I'm glad that I only added the 1/2 tsp. Came out very well. I also increased the amount of bread from 3 cups to 4 cups as suggested by other reviewers. I did do the water bath. First time at making bread pudding, I wish I had made this long ago. Thanks Mien for the recipe. It was very delicious. The additional spices really called for raisins to be added. I might try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I'm just rating the sauce on this recipe because I have a staple bread pudding recipe on this site and wanted to try it with some sauce. The sauce is awesome and got high raves from the husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States