Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Swallow your tongue good even for those of us who don't like bread pudding! I must admit I made a couple minor changes, but no way are they what made this pudding delicious! Thank you so much for sharing! For any one interested in what changes I made, I added more spices (nutmeg, cloves, cinnamon) and baked in the oven for 325 for 40 minutes instead of the water method. I also only had half and half instead of cream and used maple extract instead of vanilla extract, as I had no vanilla on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Partyof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I changed it a bit. I used: 2 cups bread cubes 2.5 cups vanilla soy milk 1/2 cup sugar 3 eggs 1 tbsp butter 1/2 tsp cinnamon dash of salt a few drops of vanilla All the directions remain the same except I baked at 290 degrees and I didn't make the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timothy Van Heest

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I made this recipe for the first time tonight. I made with my homemade bread that my gave me the starter for recently. It's homemade sour dough bread that has been in our family for 30 years. I made the recipe exactly as instructed except I added cinnamon to the bread mixture before cooking. OMG! This recipe was fantastic. Soft with w crispy top, buttery, melts in your mouth like a custard. Exactly what I was looking for. Holy Yum!!! Will make it again with my homemade bread. Oh so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
LOVE THIS!!! This is the recipe that my favorite tea room serves. I added one thing, as the bread is soaking up milk, and just aobut done, I sprinkled cinnamon on the bread. It stuck nicely and really added some zip. You will be addicted too and never want for another bread pudding recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This is the best bread pudding I've ever had! It had a smoother custard-like consistency rather than a dense squishy bread. If you have someone in your family that hates bread pudding (e.g. my husband), he probably still won't like this. But my son liked this one and no other. I used "day old" crusty bakery bread. I did make one change: Instead of 4 whole eggs, I used 2 whole + 2 yolks. The egg whites are what give bread puddings an "eggy" flavor. I save the whites for meringue or omelets. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I followed this recipe pretty much to the tee, except, I did not make the sauce and I used half white/brown sugar and added a dash of nutmeg and cinnamon. I made it in the 8x8 pan in the water bath. It turned out very very watery. I almost threw it out. I salvaged most of it by removing some of the pudding from the dish and 'draining' the water by spooning it out by hand. It tasted fine, except I did have some bites that were very eggy. I was looking for a custard type bread pudding, like a decadent one I had in a restraunt. This would have been close had it not been for the eggy tastes and the watery consistency. The taste was good, we still ate it. But I will probably be trying other recipes until I get find the perfect one. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Bergman Renken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was great! I was looking for a recipe that was more of a custard consistency as I don't like dry crusty bread pudding. This is it! Super easy and really moist. I did have to cook it about 15 minutes longer than suggested. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This is the same kind of bread pudding my mother made when we (eight of us) were growing up - more like an egg custard with bread in it. My mother's recipe is very similar. She made a dish for a friend of ours who took it to a church social back in the 1980's. A man liked it so much, he took the dish home and promised to return it. That man was Muhammad Ali, who came to the front door with the dish in his hand, requesting more bread pudding (true story).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinemabon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
It's pretty good but my pudding fell. Probably because I opted not to use the waterbath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States