Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I have made bread pudding my whole life, trying all sorts of recipes and it was always hit or miss, too soupy or too dry. This recipe is beyond simple and the best I have ever eaten. A true delight. Custardly, fragrant, can't wait to dig in. Absolutely the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
First time making bread pudding and this recipe was a home run. I added pineapple (drained & crushed), a bit of cinnamon, and sprinkled a little brown sugar on top and it came out perfect. The sauce put it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I am a bread pudding expert! This is not a good recipe. It's an egg custard with bread, and not a whole lot of substance. The egg taste really came through. The sauce was good but not a lot of flavor, just amazing number of calories. Don't serve it immediately after it comes from the oven. Allow it to cool and "set up," or it will be too wet, like some other reviewers must have discovered. I actually thought it was better cooled substantially. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out beautifully, although next time, I'd cook it perhaps 5 minutes longer. We skipped the water bath. We used Texas toast bread, which is twice as thick as regular bread, and that worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Easy and delicious! I added a half teaspoon of almond to both the pudding and the sauce. Mouth watering. I also found that the water pan was unnecessary, you just get a touch of browning on the edges which I like for the texture anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wood River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This is the best bread pudding I've ever tasted. I even used a very stale baguette and it still turned out fantastic. It is a bit sweet so the next time I make it I will probably cut back on the sugar that I put in with the bread because the sauce is soooo sweet but sooooooo delicious! Will make it again soon. Must try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Absolutely perfect!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Great recipe! My husband and friends loved it. I made only a few changes. I added cinnamon and raisins to the pudding. I also added a dollop of sherry to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Renfrew, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is extremely close to my favorite bread pudding recipe from a 1960's-era Better Homes and Gardens cookbook. (I use 4 cups dry bread cubes, rather than the 2 cups called for in the cookbook.) But my favorite part was the lemon sauce in that recipe. I also sprinkle nutmeg on the bread pudding before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
OMG!!! I'm devouring a bowl as I type this. I enjoy bread pudding but this one I simply LOVE! The only thing I did was added raisens (it's the English in me).I agree with another reviewer make this when you are the only one home so you don't have to share. Thank you for posting this it will be my one and only bread pudding from now on. AWSOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States