Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This recipe was my first attempt at bread pudding. It was wonderful! Just like gramma uses to make (except she made a rum sauce). I used left over cinnamon bread I had frozen just to make this. I folowed the recipe exactly as written. I baked it for 1 hour 15 minites as at 60 minutes the bottom was still very custardy. It came out beautiful! Can't wait to make it for the holidays. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZTweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Delicious recipe - how many things can you make in TEN minutes that taste this good? I enjoyed the texture (although I had hoped it would be as eggy as the picture indicated, which it was not! Alas). This is definitely a dessert's dessert--very sweet, especially once drenched in the syrup. As previous reviews suggested, I cut down on the sugar to make it more snack-like and less cakey-sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Very sweet, but delicious! The sauce is sooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This bread pudding is delicious! I've made it several times and even won a dessert contest with it. Over time Ive changed a few things. Instead of just plain milk: use equal parts of evaporated milk, non-fat milk, and whipping cream. I also pack butter and brown sugar into a few crevices once the bread pudding is assembled. Also, I add a bit more vanilla and nutmeg to the recipe than what it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLYKNOWSBEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Better than my Mom's family recipe. I add lots of Golden Raisins. Best eaten right out of the oven, warm. It loses something the next day. Love it with a little half n half drizzled over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pet Shop Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
The best! Highly recommend it as is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Wow! This is makes a really great bread pudding. I had a fully packed gallon ziplock bags of regular sliced white bread crusts left over from tea sandwiches I had made for a party I didn't know what to do with, equal to about 6 & 1/2 cups..and yes, even sandwich bread works great here in my opinion. You just need more bread in ratio to the milk. Then modified the recipe based on what I had on hand... 1 c white sugar, 1/2 c brown (per suggestionof other reviewers) 3 c milk, 2 c light cream 2 eggs ( no eggy taste at all) 3 T cinnamon and 1 tsp each of cloves, pumpkin pie spice, nutmeg Popped it in the oven for an hour at 325 degrees in regular stoneware pan...no water bath...and moist and baked all the way through. This comes out dense, but very moist and full off flavor. My husband loved this recipe and can't seem to get enough and have given some to friends who raved to. Thanks for this great recipe! It's very versatile, which makes it easy to use whatever you have and still succeed in making a yummy dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I bought a chocolate babka at a bake sale last weekend, we were going to bring it for mothers day breakfast but forgot it at home. I saw it sitting in the fridge and knew it had to be used or thrown away and I immediately thought to make a bread pudding. This was the first time I've made one and we sure were not disappointed. This was super easy to put together, I ended up having enough to fill a 9x13 Pyrex dish so I baked it in a water bath in my sheet cake pan. I have to admit in was a little worried about the sauce with the cup of sugar, butter and cream but it really topped off the bread pudding perfectly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Made first time as directed and it was wonderful! The sauce is to die for. The second time I upped the bread to 5 cups as other reviews advised and added raisins and cinnamon. Mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I have made bread pudding my whole life, trying all sorts of recipes and it was always hit or miss, too soupy or too dry. This recipe is beyond simple and the best I have ever eaten. A true delight. Custardly, fragrant, can't wait to dig in. Absolutely the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States