Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Mine looked great just like the one in the picture, but the bottom was basically saccharine scrambled egg mush, which was pretty gross. I salvaged the top which wasn't too bad, but this recipe needs some pretty heavy modification if it's going to turn out right. Less eggs, more bread. I'd recommend using a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I didn't have enough milk and tried a crazy mixture....I had powdered coffee mate (vanilla caramel) and mixed it with water. This with the two cups of milk I had turned out great! Since it was already flavored, I didn't use any additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Luvgod is wrong. This is absolutely THE best bread pudding recipe I've ever made or had. the only change I made was I added a dash of Nutmeg. I didn't make the sauce. I got lazy and pulled some caramel ice cream topping out of my frig and added Capt Morgan rum. heated it a bit and mixed the rum with a whisk. YUMMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is a great recipe. I will add maybe some cinnamon and some nutmeg to the next try, but this is an excellent basic recipe!! I have experimented with a little less sugar in the pudding itself and it worked really well. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I tried this twice and it didn't turn out. I cooked it longer as suggested, added more bread the second time with additional cooking time again. Didn't help. What could I have done wrong? I really want to make this dessert for my boyfriend as it is his favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nettles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I've been using my own recipe for bread pudding for years now, misplaced it and needed another. I made my pudding from this recipe and I'm glad to say that I lost my old one. This is an easy, tasty recipe. I have some preferences with bread pudding, starting with a sweet bread ( Portuguese is best), adding a fruit ( none handy this time) and always using cinn and sugar. You can't skip the water bath. That's what makes the "custard" set. I haven't scalded milk since the 70's and the recipe still works fine. Enjoy it and Thanks for Sharing Mein
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Loved it...simple easy and quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I also made this yesterday. The flavor was perfect! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This was awesome! The best bread pudding recipe I've tried. I will definitely be making this again. I followed the recipe exactly except for the following. I used 1/2c sugar plus 1/4c spoonable Splenda. I added 1T cinnamon and substituted 1/2c heavy cream for 1/2c of the milk. I also used the larger 8x11 pan, which was a good fit. Mine was almost too sweet while still warm but was perfect chilled. Both taste and texture were fabulous, so much so that I didn't even bother with the sauce - maybe next time. Unlike most that I've tried this one did not have any visible bread chunks, was like pudding or custard. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Made this for a breakfast potluck. Added raisins. Now it's the most requested breakfast item, brunch item, or dessert. It is sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States