Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Best Best Best Bread pudding I have even eaten. I added 1/2 cup rasins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Did it twice, my family loved it, once with canned peaches and the second time with canned apples.The canned apples turned out the best for me.It will be a staple in my dessert file
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This bread pudding is REALLY good. With my cajun heritage and many travels to Louisianna, I've had a chance to taste the best. This ranks among the best I've tasted. Substitute milk for heavy cream or half & half for a richer pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
This recipe is *fabulous*!!! I made it for a dinner party, and my guests could not stop raving about it. Also, the recipe can be made "healthier" without sacrificing the taste by substituting the butter for a low-fat butter substitute and the sugar with a sugar substitute. I've made both versions and cannot tell the difference between the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Creole Miss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
Excellent and easy recipe to make. I followed the other users suggestions and I made only half the sauce. For me, certainly plenty - but definitely easy enough to make a second half batch with the leftovers (if there are any!) if we need it. I too used canned peaches and only half the apples since we only had 2 left - but it was my first try making bread pudding and sure won't be my last. Thanks Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenshaw, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
The whiskey sauce alone is worth making this recipe. I want to put it on everything. It would be insanely delicious on pancakes and/or waffles, methinks. Otherwise, the bread pudding was terrific as well. It's a simple recipe and quick to prepare. This is a hit. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I had to make a couple of modifications, as I was making this the same day I needed to serve it. I diced the bread, then spread it on baking sheets and toasted it in the oven at 300* for about 10-15 minutes. I used peaches from a jar, because they are not in season in my area. I cooked the apples in a pot on low for about 15 minutes with a pinch of cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. I also used half-and-half on the recommendation of another reviewer. The whiskey sauce is the crowning glory of this recipe. It is well-balanced, delicious, and great also on apple crisp! The recipe was easy to follow and I received glowing compliments on the dish. This is a wonderful alternate to pie this holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misserin13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Good stuff! I made a few changes like used 5 peaches, 1 apple, and a handful of raisins. I cut out 1/4 cup of the milk, I substituted half the sugar for Splenda, and I used lemon sauce instead of Whiskey sauce. It shows how versatile this recipe is...it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This was sensational! Next time I will add more fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I served this to 24 people (increased the amounts of course). Everyone had seconds and love it. However, I substituted peach schnapps instead of whiskey and added some peach schnapps to the pudding and reduced the milk accordingly. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States