Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
awsome recipe, would suggest adding maybe a 1/2 cup more of milk, a little dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was the first bread pudding I've every made. I've always been a bread pudding lover though! I made a double batch for the home and the office. Everyone loved it... so much so, that it was completely eaten! The changes I'd make for the next time are: - Cut the bread the night before so it can be made "stale". I used french bread [as suggested by others] - Increase the whiskey. I found the sauce a bit sweet, but nothing that drizzling some whiskey over it before serving didn't fix! Perhaps adding the whiskey when the sauce was cooler would increase the 'alcohol' edge to reduce the sweetness. Of course, there's always cutting back the sugar... not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Pretty good. Not the best I've had, but worth making. I prefer more of a buttery taste to the pudding itself, so I might try to toss some butter with the bread and cut down on some of the liquids next time I make this. I did think it was just a bit too sweet with the sauce (very good and easy), so adding less sugar is one thing I would definitely change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Great dish! I did a 1/2 batch soaked the raisins in boiling water to soften first and substituted soy milk for milk and cream for I am lactose intolerant. It is a great dairy free treat! Also, we have made it with whiskey, brandy and dark rum and all are great, but we like our loose delights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was delicious! I followed the recipe, but used a french bread loaf, and cooked it at 325 for 55 minutes. I halved the recipe and use a loaf pan, which turned out great. I was concerned about the whiskey smell/flavor, but once it was soaked into the bread pudding, it tasted perfect. My one little nit is that it was a little bit runny, but the flavor made it a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I've been making a version of this recipe for years. This recipe is good all-be-it a little too sweet I thought. The best bread pudding is made with stale homemade bread if you prefer a less gooey pudding. Baking it in a water bath is a must! It's also good cold. Hubby ate it the next day cold with maple walnut ice cream and milk on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Turned out great! I brought this to a Marti Gras party and it was a hit. Only change was to use only half the suggested amount of alcohol. I also switched to using Southern Comfort instead of Whiskey as well. Made a full 13x9. I may have over cooked it, but I like the top of my bread pudding slightly crispy. I baked it an additional 20 minutes (total of 65 mins). It definitely wasn't done at 45 minutes. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebago, Maine, USA
Living In: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was the most delicious bread pudding I've ever eaten. I made some changes because of what I had on hand and the size of pan I used. After reading the other reviews I cut the milk back to four cups total. I had a cup of coconut milk leftover over from another recipe so I used that in place of one of the cups and counted the cup of light cream I used for another cup of the milk. I cut the syrup recipe in half and drizzled it over the top of the whole dish after it came out of the oven. I still had some leftover but it tasted great drizzled on top of our oatmeal this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gayleskornerkitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Williamsport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Great recipe. I'm in Denver, so I wound up doing 350 for an 1.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
An excellent base..remember bread pudding was to use old bread, exta eggs,milk & cream, fruit, and the brandy to tempt the hubby! Very the cooking time and temp to compliment moisture milk/egg ratio..I like to remember to do mine in a water bath..but then sometimes I really like the crust..Think of this as a "light" fruitcake..Mine changes all the time..BTW the sauce is excellent on a cake..In Spain they have a whiskey cake..great, they pour the sause on the cake, and let it sit..watch so it's not too mushy. Frankly any favorit cake works..no frosting, dust w/powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilona

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northridge, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States