Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I have found some some really good recipes on this site...but this one, hands down, is my Favorite. I decided to make bread pudding for Thanksgiving instead of the usual pies. We moved from New Orleans and miss the great food there, bread pudding is one of their staples, so I have had my share of great bread pudding. And this just may be better than any I have had. I made it the night before and put it in the fridge overnight so it would be cold (the only way I like it). Also, I was running low on cinnamon, I had about 3/4 a tbsp, so I added about 3/4 tsp nutmeg also. We made the sauce, which was perfect, right before dessert so it would be hot. The recipe didn't specify what type of corn syrup, so I used dark. That's how I recommend bread pudding...cold with warm sauce. Thanks So much for sharing, this recipe made Thanksgiving complete. I will make this Every single Thanksgiving, for ever probably! From now on, if we have a turkey, we have this bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I get rave reviews with this recipe! The last 2 times I made this, I used a whole wheat cranberry walnut bread that I let get stale. I added a medium peeled and finely diced apple and a some extra dried cranberries. I put the bread in my large oval crock pot and pour the custard mixture over top a good 1/2 hour before baking. gently fold a few times to ensure the custard mixture coats ALL of the bread cubes! then add the cranberries and apple and cook on high for and hour, then down to low for 3-4 hours. With the denser bread, it did take closer to 4, but i started early and left it on keep warm when it finished. Used spiced rum for the sauce. Love using my slow cooker for dessert so it's warm and ready after dinner and keeps my oven freed up! In addition....just in case it isn't crazy rich enough, I found a great way to use the leftovers. I sliced the pudding with a sharp knife while it was cold and dipped in egg wash and made french toast the next morning for breakfast with the leftover syrup. It was ridiculously delicious and kept us full forever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connorsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartville, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Easy to make and tastes superb. Can't ask for much more than that. The only downside is that I made this recipe for just my self and my boyfriend. It's a huge recipe and difficult to make smaller simply due to the nature of the size of the loaf of bread. It refrigerates well, but you will get some water separation at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Very good! I used Bacardi light rum instead of Whiskey though. Love rum for it's sweetness. Not a Whiskey fan. Turned out deliciously! I used French Baguettes for the bread and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie West Bostedor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Ile, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This recipe was amazing. I made it twice during Christmas because my husband and I ate too much of the first batch. This is a can't miss dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I left out the raisins and cut back on the whiskey....my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Great recipe I baked at 350 for 45min came out perfect even though I used 4cups of sugar in the mix on accident.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was the first bread pudding I've made and it turned out GREAT! I followed the pudding recipe but used some dinner rolls we had left over and I baked it at 350 for 45 minutes as recommended in some reviews. For the sauce, I used a little less of everything because I didn't want as much sauce (we're only two people) and used Amaretto instead of whiskey because I had it on hand (also recommended by other reviews). It is a great treat, I'm going to bring it to a casual get togehter tonight, and I'm sure it will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Very good...sauce was quite strong. I will cut back on the rum a little next time, but that is just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Tastes great, but cook at 350 for 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States