Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Fantastic! Only adjustment I made was serving number, since it's just my husband and I. I recommend using Forty Creek whiskey, because it's got a nice vanilla tone to it. That's what we used and it's wonderful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This recipe is SINFUL! Just rereading the recipe made me crave some. I made this for our dessert on Christmas Day and we were all so full we hardly ate any of it. The sinful part is the fact that I personally ate the left overs myself within 4 days. I even had some for breakfast one day! I swore I would never make it again because of my lack of willpower, but for the same reason I know I will! A definite keeper in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Angola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I have been looking for this recipe for AGES! Thank you! This is one of my all time favorite recipes! So, to make it the way I prefer it, I added 1/2 cup of chopped pecans with the raisins. I also added another half stick of butter to the sauce, and cooked it for about five minutes after I added the bourbon to kill some of the alcohol burn. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleMissSunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Great recipe! Very moist and tasty. My husband loved this, and since there was more sauce than we needed for the bread pudding, he now puts the sauce on his ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Best Bread pudding I ever had! Loved the amaretto addition instead of whiskey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This is the best Bread Pudding! I have been making it for several years & is always a favorite. I do add more cinnamon & bake this for about 1-1/2 hrs... until the center puffs (you'll see what I mean when you bake it). For the sauce, I add 1/2 the whiskey...just want the flavor. It's great the 1st time, but even better re-heated as leftovers! Thanks for such an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I didn't make the bread pudding portion of this recipe as I already had a bread pudding. I only made the sauce as I was specifically looking for a whiskey sauce to use up what I had on hand. I halved the recipe for the sauce but didn't take the recommendations to reduce the whiskey by half again. I absolutely should have. This sauce smelled like the worst drunk and tasted about as bad. There was WAY TOO MUCH whiskey for the rest of the ingredients. If making a full batch of the sauce, definitely reduce the whiskey by half. The texture was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Good. I think it needs more cinnamon. I made ahead and let it soak. Removed from fridge and placed in oven while preheating. i Baked it for almost 1:45. The last 15 minutes i covered because it was starting to brown too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This turned out delicious! As others I increased the cooking temp to 325 and the time to 1 hr and 15 minutes. I added to the recipe a 1/2 cup of nuts (walnuts this time, will try pecans another time) and a 1/4 cup of rum to the custard mix so the bread would have the rum taste baked in as well as pouring the rum sauce over the pudding. I chose rum as it is sweeter in taste and goes well with the pudding. I also served it with a bit of whipped cream to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is the best bread pudding I've ever tasted!! Left the recipe the same but upped the cinnamon to almost 2 T. Upped the temp to 350 and baked for an hour. Actually split the sauce into two bowls and made one with whiskey and one with Amaretto. They were fantastic!! The Amaretto was extremely sweet but still had a good flavor. Will certainly make this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States