Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is an incredible recipe! The first few times I made it, I thought it was a bit heavy on the whiskey. Now I wouldn't make it any other way. I do use a little more bread than the recipe calls for, I usually use Texas Toast and use enough to soak up most of the liquid. It just makes it a little more dense. I always have gotten rave reviews on this either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I give this 5 stars because of the amazing flavor and texture. It bakes up beautifully and tastes great. I did make a few changes: I baked at 350 for one hour, upped the cin. and added nutmeg to the mixture. The only thing I did not like about the way it turned out after baking was the spaces between the bread cubes. In between the bread it looked like scrambled eggs. Before baked there was a lot of mixture left, even after allowing the bread to absorb the mixture, but this was my first time making pudding so I left it there. I think next time I would add the bread to the mixture, all it to fully saturate, pull the bread from the mixture to the pans and discard the remaining mixture. The sauce was great too, I only had spiced rum and used that. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selene K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nenana, Alaska, USA
Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This was really good. I was looking for a recipe that I lost and this one is really close to it. I left out the cinnamon and used more raisins. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This bread pudding was just about the best I have ever eaten. The whole 9 x 13 dish was gone in minutes! I did cook the whiskey off for about a half hour on low heat with the sugar/butter and corn syrup. This recipe is surely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
AWESOME!!! It needs to bake for at least an hour. I used Captain Morgan Spiced Rum instead of whiskey. LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This recipe was awesome with one exception. When I make it next I will use less whiskey. I found the whiskey overwhelming based on the recipe's measurement. It just about floored me, and I like cooking with alcohol. Way overboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
awesome! it made a huge amount, so i assumed some of it would end up getting tossed, boy was i wrong! delicous and quite simple!!!!!!!!!!!!! Follwed the recipie to a tee, no changes. Will make again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa2roberto
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Delicious! Used a raisin challah which was a perfect compliment. This took approx 1hr and 30 mins at 300. At the last minute, I realized I did not have whiskey so I used Creme Anglaise from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I made a 1/2 recipe in an 8 inch square pan and used a homemade cinnamon swirl bread. I added a bit of nutmeg along with the cinnamon.It was very good. The sauce has a wonderful consistency. I baked it at 350 and took it out when it still looked just a bit wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This pudding recipe is almost identical to my own so I stuck with it, however the sauce recipe was new to me...its a keeper! I will make it with whiskey next time but did not have any, instead used butterscotch schnapps. The sauce is very easy to make but like one other reviewer I let it bubble before removing it from the heat, then added the liquor. Can't wait to try it with the whiskey. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tylertown, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Bacon & Crab Bread Pudding Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States