Bread Pudding with Praline Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is VERY sweet -- especially if you're going to add a sweet sauce to top it off. I wish I had followed my instincts and cut the sugar down to 2 cups. I would also mix all the ingredients together before pouring them into the bread -- otherwise you're likely to break down the bread completely .-- so you get mush. I like the crusts also because that helps to keep it from compacting down too much -- just make sure to soak bread long enough to absorb the liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Rich, rich, rich, but oh soooo good! This was the first time I made bread pudding and was able to use up old stale odds and ends of different kinds of bread left in my refrigerator in this (waste not want not). I also cut back to 2 cups of sugar instead of 3. The sauce was an added bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Need to cut sugar back to 2 cups not 3 ... but still excellent..every one loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This recipe is fabulous and was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This without a doubt is the best bread pudding I have ever had. I used a loaf of wheat french bread as well as omitting one cup of the milk and adding heavy cream. Makes it just a little richer as well as a better match for the pecans. Dianne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I had been looking for a Banana Bread Pudding recipe and made a couple of alterations to this recipe. I reduced the vanilla extract to 2 tsps and added 2 tsps of banana extract. Instread of raisins I added to 2 cups of sliced banana which I had tossed with a little lemon juice. It worked out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Without a doubt the best bread pudding I have ever made. I did use a loaf of Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon Raisin bread ( exactly 1 pound ) to save a little time. The sauce was perfect. I give this 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This is the first time to make bread pudding. I'm not sure if it was I just don't like bread pudding or I didn't follow the recipe correctly but I didn't like final product. It reminded me of mashed up french toast. LOL. Lets just say, I still have 3/4 of a dish left...no one in the house really cared for it. BUT it could just be we aren't bread pudding fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkrek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Phenomenal exactly as written. I didn't change a thing. We ate it warm the night I baked it, and cold the following night. Both were absolutely delicious. Thank you for a solid recipe that is easy and scrumptous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Very good recipe. Use a very big mixing bowl. In addition to cinnamon i added 1 teaspoon ginger, 1 teaspoon allspice, and 1 teaspoon nutmeg. I had a small bad of praline pecans that i rough chopped and added to sauce. All said and done this is one awesome recipe! Even better after it sits and settles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA
Living In: West Jefferson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States