Bread Pudding in the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I have made this twice and it comes out wonderful. First time I used white bread, added the raisins, and Loved it. Then I used cinnamon raisin bread only added a 1/8 Cup raisins and the vanilla, this too was yum ! This is so much easier than the traditional oven method with a pan of water ! One of my all time favorite deserts and I had missed it for years because I was always too busy. With the slow cooker it is so easy to make, I will never have to only wish I had some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixmont, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This is the second time I made this recipe. It was very good the 1st time, but I learned some tricks.. Be sure to spray your crock with non-stick butter spray before adding the bread. I doubled the recipe because we loved it. I would fill my crock pot with bread crumbs, add the some liquid mixture, stir and add more bread until most of the liquid is adborbed. I used 12 hamburger buns. Also, top it off with warm caramel sauce a it is served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Casie
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Made this with cinnamon, vanilla almond milk instead of regular milk, and a little bit of chai tea. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I was introduced to bread pudding only recently, and had not made it before trying out this recipe. Well, I can say for certain that I have no desire to try any other bread pudding recipes - this one is a keeper! I used day-old egg bread, and actually added 3 tablespoons of rum as it was the holiday season. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made it exactly as it says. Isn't sweet at all. I serve with ice cream and whip cream to help the salty flavor and it work. Next time I'll use brown sugar and more cinnamon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
A little bland, but this is a basic bread pudding. It works well in the slow cooker, and you can easily adjust. I meant to grease the cooker and forgot. Oops. If you make it, try to remember to grease it. It really helps. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I knew I had to try this recipe, but I also knew I would make a few changes right off the bat. I used 1/2 cup brown sugar in place of the white sugar, I added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg, and I upped the vanilla extract to 1 teaspoon. So, so good!!! I did use the raisins (a must for me in bread pudding!), but because this was going to be a dessert for us, I soaked the raisins in rum for about 1/2 hour before adding to the crock pot (SO good!). But next time I might also throw in some chopped apples just for variety. Anyway, this is a great recipe (that I tweaked to my personal preference, but I bet it is also great as written). Oh, and I also sprayed my crock pot with butter flavored non-stick spray prior to adding ingredients and cleanup was a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This was wonderful. The taste was great and the fixing it was easy. I did use apples instead of raisins as I don't care for raisings. My BH put some eggnog on his. He loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This turned out rather tastless and not very sweet. Bread cubes on the top didn't become part of the pudding. Definetly needs more liquid ingredients. I will take the recipe and play with it. I think it's a good foundation but I wouldn't serve it to my guests as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I made this recipe about a month ago and I used wheat bread instead of white. I also used golden raisins instead of the regular ones. My bread pudding tasted more like a healthy version of bread pudding instead of something more dessert-ish. Those who want a warm or cold breakfast with a more rustic and earthy appeal, try what I did. I should write this recipe out since it is different. Forgive me. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States