Bread Pudding in the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was awesome! I halved the recipe so that it would fit into my 2qt. slow cooker. I used a loaf of homemade Irish soda bread, and that worked out great! To the mix, I also added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. I mixed all the wet ingredients in a bowl, then added the bread cubes to coat in the egg mixture, before putting it into my cooker. I may have left it on a bit longer than called for and then just put it on warm until I was ready to serve it. Very moist, and great flavor I think I would maybe add a bit more sugar if using plain bread, but since the Irish soad bread was already sweetened, it was fine...I can't believe this dessert came out of a crockpot, lol. This is a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Mine is still cooking but I snuck a taste. It is out of this world good. Reminds me a lot of Raglan Road's (Disney World). I cannot wait for it to be done. I used Pepperidge Farm's hearty cut white and toasted it as suggested. I added cinnamon and just a little more vanilla. I only had skim milk so I used 1 cup skim and one cup half and half. Sooooo easy. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I doubled the recipe. I added cinnamon and vanilla. I will increase the amount of nutmeg and cinnamon next time. I did use the raisins. I will LIGHTLY spray cooking spray in the crock next time. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I knew I had to try this recipe, but I also knew I would make a few changes right off the bat. I used 1/2 cup brown sugar in place of the white sugar, I added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg, and I upped the vanilla extract to 1 teaspoon. So, so good!!! I did use the raisins (a must for me in bread pudding!), but because this was going to be a dessert for us, I soaked the raisins in rum for about 1/2 hour before adding to the crock pot (SO good!). But next time I might also throw in some chopped apples just for variety. Anyway, this is a great recipe (that I tweaked to my personal preference, but I bet it is also great as written). Oh, and I also sprayed my crock pot with butter flavored non-stick spray prior to adding ingredients and cleanup was a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
WOW! This turned out great! I used a 4 Qt. crockpot and increased the servings to 8. I did toast my bread(a whole loaf of Pep. farm naturals honey oat). I added about 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 2 Tbsp. of real maple syrup. I also switched the nutmeg to cinnamon, just because of personal preferance. I also served additional maple syrup on the side. I didn't need it as I felt is was sweet enough, but others added a bit. I can't wait to make this again, and again, and again!!! Next time I will spray the sides of the crockpot with cooking spray, especially if I plan to keep it on warm for any period of time. Thanks for this awesome, and super easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I had made zucchini bread and forgot to add the salt and baking powder (duh!!!)... Anyway, this was the perfect fix for my problem (not so tasty zucchini bread). I added the salt that I forgot and used evaporated milk. I made whiskey sauce to pour over before serving it. My husband and I finished it off in 4 days, it was delicious !!! Thanks for sharing this fabulous easy recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I made this recipe about a month ago and I used wheat bread instead of white. I also used golden raisins instead of the regular ones. My bread pudding tasted more like a healthy version of bread pudding instead of something more dessert-ish. Those who want a warm or cold breakfast with a more rustic and earthy appeal, try what I did. I should write this recipe out since it is different. Forgive me. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This is by far one of the best bread pudding recipes I have tried. I didn't have raisins but didn't miss them in this version of a southern favorite. I like things like this on the sweeter side so I added 3/4 cups of sugar. The bread I used was what I had on hand and it was Pepperidge Farm Honey Wheat. It came out fantastic and it is very easy and problem free to make. I only wish I doubled the recipe.. It was fantastic.. Thank You for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Photo by aggie
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was so easy and quick to make. I used panetone and added some dehydrated blueberries. I butter the crockpot pan which made it easy to take out. Oone more thing.... I used a spoon tp press the bread down to make sure all the egg mix was soaked up. Love this and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I used raisin bread -maybe that was what ruined it. It was really not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States