Bread Pudding III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I made this recipe for my grandparents because my grandpa loves sweets. I myself am not a big fan of bread pudding but I rated this a 5 because EVERY time I go visit (at least 3 days a week) I have to hear about this bread pudding. Needless to say for someone who does not care for bread pudding, I make this very very often! They swear it is the best bread pudding they have ever eaten in their lives, and they are in their late 80s! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SRaeRae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Krotz Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This bread pudding was delicious! I read some of the reviews, and let it soak about 10-15 minutes before baking and baked it about 10 minutes longer than the recipe said and it came out great. Soooo easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daymora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Easy to make bread pudding. I added an extra apple (granny) that i cut in tiny bits. I think it'll taste like real Dutch apple pie with the apple, raisins and cinnamon...It's in the oven right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
i used challah bread and doubled the cinnamon, substituted half of the regular sugar for brown sugar, i also found this baileys irish cream sauce on another site and used it : 2 tablespoons brown sugar 2 egg yolks 1/2 cup 2% reduced-fat milk 1 tablespoon Baileys Irish Cream combine 2 tablespoons sugar and egg yolks in a medium bowl, stirring with a whisk. Heat 1/2 cup milk in a small, heavy saucepan over medium heat to 180° or until tiny bubbles form around the edge (do not boil). Gradually add hot milk to egg yolk mixture, stirring constantly with a whisk. Place milk mixture in pan; cook over low heat 6 minutes or until mixture coats the back of a spoon, stirring constantly with a whisk. Remove from heat; stir in liqueur. Place pan in a large ice-filled bowl for 5 minutes or until sauce cools to room temperature, stirring constantly. Serve sauce over warm pudding. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peavy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Really simple & tasty recipe. I added peaches, don't like raisins. I will make this again, but will add a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I made this recipe with a few changes. I only used 4 eggs, and I substituted dried cranberries for raisins and added some white chocolate chips. It turned out really well. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is exactly what I envision when I think of bread pudding. A perfect combination of flavors and so easy to make. The only issue I had was in a part of the process. After mixing the bread cubes with the cinnamon, raisins and butter I found that most of the raisins congregated in the middle after I transfered the mixture to the baking dish. A minor issue, but next time I will place half the bread crumbs in the dish, sprinkle half the butter, cinnamon, and raisins then repeat. Also, because I lOVE the taste, I increased the nutmeg to about 1/2 tsp. I plan to experiment with flavors in my next batches by using peaches, apples, cherries, blueberries, or raspberries instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tattoogrl13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I have never had or made bread pudding before and was stunned by how yummy this was! I did use some leftover whole wheat cinnamon raisin bread for part of the bread. But even my friends who did know what bread pudding is supposed to taste like loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I never use just plain white bread. This recipe was created to use up old bread around the house. I used old buns,bread and donuts instead of just white bread. This is the perfect recipe to get rid of those dried out old buns that never freeze well in the first olace. Also, add a bit more milk. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mentor, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I added more eggs than the recipe called for and soaked the raisins in the beaten eggs and vanilla for about 45 mins. to soften them up and flavor prior to baking. I also added some rum to the egg/raisin/vanilla misture. I also dusted the pudding with powdered sugar after taking out of the oven. The heat of the pudding melted the sugar and gave it a pretty look. I used a stale french baguette for the bread. Great tasting comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States