Bread Pudding III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Nichele
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
The nutmeg is overpowering, and you need to use white bread as the recipe calls for, no substitutes,or the texture and taste will be off. I cooked longer than the time called for and was still too moist, did not like the texture and it tasted too much like french toast, not worth the effort.........not very pretty either, had to add raspberrys and whipped cream to make it more presentable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I used a 1-pound loaf of Cinnamon Raisin Swirl bread instead of the white bread, and I did not add any additional raisins. This was excellent! I usually make a more traditional recipe from French bread, but this was easier and just as tasty. I also made a whiskey sauce (butter, sugar, a beaten egg, and a tablespoon of whiskey) to top the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was so easy to make. I cut down the sugar to about 1/2 a cup and used day old vienna bread but otherwise followed the original recipe. This one is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Everyone loved this! Highly recomended. The only problem, I had no idea how to scald milk. I had to google that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Can't make this too often...I ate the whole thing myself! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lackawaxen, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lords Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I made this recipe yesterday and by evening it was almost gone. It is so good, I really like the custard base. My son, who is not into puddings decided to try it and wow, he said it was pretty good.(darn, less for me)I followed the recipe and did not change a thing, I really don't think you have to. Try it and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This is a really simple yet fantastic recipe! I doubled the cinnamon and added extra nutmeg as well. I also left out the raisins, since I didn't have any, and used a peach instead! I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and it was still sweet enough. For the bread I used challah, which seemed perfect. Very good recipe, highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Delicious! Served this bread pudding to a crowd of 100 at a church dinner. It is easy to make and we received wonderful compliments! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This made me the life of the party! I hardly ever cook but I brought this to two pot lucks because I had some stale bread and sour milk. I used 3/4 cup of sugar the first time and it was great. The second time I used 3/4 cup organic maple sugar and it tied in with the cinnamon and raisins quite nicely! This is an easy and tasty recipe for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mgcasella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is by far the best bread pudding recipe I have tried! I left out the rasins for the picky eaters in the family, but I don't think it hurt the recipe one bit. This is a definate keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April0280

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States