Bread Pudding III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brian
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Big fan of simple pleasures, and this hits the mark. This is just a really good bread pudding. My thoughts: 10 slices of bread is a bit nebulous. A slice of raisin bread is MUCH smaller than a slice of homemade bread. So many of the reviews jumped between adding more bread or fewer eggs, but it really comes down to consistency. When you let the bread and egg mixture soak for about 10 minutes, there really shouldn't be excess liquid. It should be like a wet sponge, well soaked without floating in a pool. I used 9 out of the 10 slices in a 1 pound loaf from Sprouts, and cut off crusts. I didn't think pouring a little bit of butter and cinnamon over that much bread made sense, but it really works...just do it. I like a casserole dish instead of a 13X9 because it seems to retain moisture better. It did take closer to 40 minutes than 25. It will rise kind of like a souffle, and have a good brown top. A little "wiggle" left in it. Be patient. After you take it out, it will probably fall. We put it in the fridge, and thought it might be too dense. However, after a 20 second nuke, it became the moist, sweet bread pudding I was hoping for. Added a whiskey sauce to take this one over the top. The boy gave it a 10 without the sauce and an 8 with, so your mileage may vary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I just made this using the heals from 5 loaves of bread and it turned out perfect! It had the right amount of moistness and sweetness. I really don't see how this recipe could be improved. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This really came out delicious. The only reason I only gave it four starts was because I had to guess at the amount of bread to use. How much is 10 slices of a two pound loaf of homemade bread? Or left over baguettes? Or Italian loaf bread? How many cups of bread is 10 slices?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Good. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
We made this according to recipe except we omitted the raisins and the nutmeg. We served it warm with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream and some warm caramel syrup poured over it. Awesome stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Alford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I will make this again. Needed more cinnamon than what recipe called for and it took alot longer to cook but the flavors were otherwise great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
DELICIOUS! I must remember to let it cool for a bit before serving next time. it was too hot to come out of the pan properly. Made awesome leftovers for the next-days breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this for Christmas. WONDERFUL! I did add a small can of peaches in heavy cream without the juice. My DH, Mom & family went nuts over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I made this tonight and it was delicious! My family and friends loved it, I made a caramel rum sauce to go over it! Going to make it several more times during the holidays! My friends would love this as a gift! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States