Bread Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Yum!!!! I used Pepperidge Farm cinnamon swirl bread, left out the raisins, added a 1/4 cup of brown sugar, used gourmet whipping cream instead of milk and topped it with a vanilla sauce recipe I found on this site. WOW! This made a dessert you'd pay a lot for in a restaurant. My husband and I loved it. And it was so easy! I'll make this a lot. Anyone who even remotely likes bread pudding will love this for it's ease and it's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2835 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I started using this recipe nearly THREE years ago, and figured it was time to say so. I've read some of the reviews, and if this helps, I've tweaked a little, too. I don't usually like to share my secrets, but this one's free: keep the egg quantity, use half and half instead of milk; turbinado sugar adds a warmer flavor than white. Add some extra bread (a couple slices worth of ANY kind - I love the varying textures and colors), cram it with walnuts and 1/4 teaspoon of black walnut extract; use nutmeg instead of cinnamon with the black walnut flavor, ground ginger without. Exotic. I've topped this bread with thinly sliced pears in a pinwheel design (nicer flavor and softer texture than apples) and sprinkled the tiniest bit of brown sugar over them before baking. Warm with whipped cream is best, still it's a great start to any day as breakfast. Thanks, Ellen. I've been appreciating you for a while and would give you 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This recipe is SO delicious and SO easy to make (no scalded milk or water baths here - yippee!). The first time I made it I used 4 eggs like the recipe calls for, but I thought it was way too "eggy" (it almost made a layer of scrambled eggs on the bottom of the pan!)... so the second time I made it with only 3 eggs and it was PERFECT! Both times I made it with cheap store-brand white bread and it was absolutely delicious, so you don't need to use an expensive bread to get good results. I topped each serving with a dollop of homemade whipped topping (whip 1/2 pint of whipping cream together with 3 tablespoons powdered sugar and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla)... and then I sprinkled a little cinnamon on top of that. It was truly "TO DIE FOR"!! Thanks so much for this easy and delicious recipe, Ellen! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1671 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
This bread pudding is the best I have ever tasted. My husband loves bread pudding and is never satisfied with what I make. I made your bread pudding and he was raving. He almost ate half of the pan. My grandson was here at the time and he kept wanting more. I finally had to put a stop to both of them But honestly it is the best - even the restaurant can't touch it. Thanks for a great recipe. This is a desert that is ready in 45 minutes and is perfection. Thank you, thank you, Sondra Whealton
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
650 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
Good, but way too much sugar (cut down to about 1/2 cup) and cinnamon. Also needed to add more bread (used 9 slices) because after nearly an hour of baking the center was still uncooked, cold, and soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
511 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
This is a great, easy recipie! I doubled the recipie, changed the milk into heavy whipping cream, and instead of useing french bread or raisins I used petridge farm raisin swirl bread. I also recomend cutting off all crust from the bread, it makes it taste stale. But with these simple changes it's great!! Great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
373 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
I really liked this recipe! I had some left over french bread which I wasn't sure what to do with and figured a pudding would be nice... It sure was! I used one egg less (they were big and I didn't want it to be to "eggy" anyway). I also used brown sugar intead of white sugar and added nutmeg to the whole. Oh and I didn't use any raisins. I really recommend it... I'm thinking of making it for my family when they come over next weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
My family and I love this recipe. Even my wife who never used to like breadpudding loved it. My little trick was instead of raisins I thinly sliced a granny smith apple and used it in it's place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
This recipe is fairly tasty but has a custard-like consistency, which I do not care for. I even added 3 extra slices of bread. The sides and top, which got a little drier and crispier, were quite tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
So Good! I used leftover, homemade egg bread...it turned out fabulous! As good as my grandma's, and that's saying alot! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,088) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States