Bread Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GrannyGwilt
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I used chocolate chips and sweetener instead of sugar and sultanas/raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This recipe was great. I did adjust slightly by adding a little more bread, a little more cinnamon and some nutmeg, then right before putting in the oven i drizzled some reduced fat sweetened condensed milk over the top. I baked this in a disposable shallow pasta pan and while in the oven it puffed up right above the rim and then once i took it out it deflated to half the height. When I served this warm I drizzled a little more of the milk on top. Will definitely continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Great recipe and moist! My husband doesn't like bread pudding or raisins. I changed it to use diced apples and diced canned peach slices, a tiny bit of cinnamon and brown sugar on top prior and then used only 1/2 c brown sugar instead of white. (I sometimes use a combo of the canned peach juice for almost a cup, add buttermilk for a bit and regular milk. Other times a combo of a half cup buttermilk and the rest 2% milk or half and half cream) It's nice! My husband actually eats this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Excellent even when made exclusively with whole wheat crusts and heels! I have a child who decided to never eat a crust again when he turned four (he's now six). After leaving them on for months and watching the waste, I finally started cutting off the crusts and putting them in the freezer. Now, I regularly use them in this recipe. I love that the heels and crusts my son refuses to touch normally are turned into something he loves! All four of us love it, in fact. And no wasted crusts and heels. When I'm ready to make it, I take the crusts and heels out of the freezer in the morning and let them thaw. In the afternoon, I put them in the oven for a bit. Then I break it up and use it. I try to stick to the recipe as written, but it is very forgiving. I often use three eggs instead of four. I have never used the raisins. Often we pour milk on our portions before eating. It's deliciously sweet and yummy as written. So much so, that I might cut back the sugar to 1/2 cup. Not because it's too sweet but just to experiment with how "healthy" I can make it and still make it lovable. Thank you for an awesome, versatile, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I added an apple also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Andres

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I made this using homemade sourdough bread and dried cherries. Instant hit with my family, who had never had bread pudding before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Kocher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
very good, super simple and requested by everyone. Definitely a recipe to have on hand anytime you need to make something yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
To be honest, I do not care for bread pudding, that being said..I LOVE THIS RECIPE. Thank you EllenMarie. Mine looks just like the photo, and tastes amazing. I took the advice of others and used 8 slices of bread, and 3 eggs and doubled the rest of the recipe as written. 9x13 pan. Last night we had it for dessert using sugar free vanilla instant pudding for the topping. This morning, our breakfast of scrambled eggs, bread pudding with sugar free syrup, will be delightful. Never would have believed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I really like this recipe since it is easy and tasty, though I did make few tweaks. I used: ~ 9 slices of raisin bread ~ 3 1/2 tablespoons butter, melted ~ 3 eggs, beaten ~ 2 cups milk ~ 3/4 cup brown sugar ~ 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon ~ 1 teaspoon vanilla extract I also put it in the oven for 35 minutes. It came out golden and with a perfect consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States