Bread Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
when I make bread pudding I use a cinnamon swirl bread made by a local store and I add small diced up apples in mine ( and some over the very top and I use a raw sugar instead of white and I also sprinkle a little over the very top at the end so it has a little sweet glitter when its done! and I love the tops, they are the best part.. I also use 1 c milk and 1 cup of half and half instead of all milk. it makes it richer tasting and a thicker pudding. I also use just plain cream or half and half poured over it, it wont make it as soggy as jsut pouring milk over it will and god its good. I make it every winter with the apples off our trees. I have tried granny smiths as they add in a nice tartness with the sweetness or a ny cook cooking apple will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Its delishhhhh !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeoville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moonshiney
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I wanted to make this because the recipe is simple and had a lot of positive feedback. I read a couple of the reviews so I decided to follow some of the suggestions (used 9 bread slices instead of just 6 and used only 3 eggs). Someone also commented that it is too sweet and had too much cinnamon so I used 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of white and cut the cinnamon down to 3/4 tsp. Also, I cut the crusts off the bread, cut the bread slices into triangles and layered them on the 8x8 pan. I also included the crusts on the sides since I wasn't using day-old/stale bread, I figured it wouldn't matter. The result was a nice, soft, moist, delicious pudding, not too eggy or custard-y. It is not too sweet due to the brown sugar substitution. The pudding can be served with a scoop of ice cream, creme Anglaise or even some maple syrup if you want to make it sweeter. I will definitely make this again, I'll probably try the recipe as is to compare the taste with this tweaked version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
The bread pudding can be vastly improved by peeling and coring a Granny Smith apple, and grating it over the bread after step 2. Reduce sugar to 1/2 cup, and replace 1 cup of milk with 1 cup half-and-half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Delicious! I used CRAISINS instead of raisins and it was so yummmmmy! Have made this several times .... it is just as good with raisins or craisins and I will try apple next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Never made bread pudding before and this was fast and easy. I used Splenda instead of sugar. Added craisins and a little orange zest. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Pretty darn good. I used 1 cup half and half and 1 cup milk. Instead of all white sugar, I used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white. It could probably stand to use a few more slices of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
everytime I make this I use this as a base recipe. I add different things each time. bananas, chocolate chips, apples, molasses. .. whatever works :) I do add more bread though. 10-12
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Uhmanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I love his recipe. My tip is to sprinkle coconut on top to add that crispy look! So yummy. I don't measure.......just sprinkle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by renita
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This is a great recipe. I made a few changes like 3 tbs of butter 1/4 of brown sugar and 1/2 cup sugar. I also used heavy whipping cream and to top it all off I made a mascarpone and salted Carmel drizzle to go on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,066) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States