Bread Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I love this recipe. It is a great way to use up dry raisin bread. Make sure to press the bread down into the pan and if necessary add more bread cubes. Mine comes out perfet every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by puerca83
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
GRRREAT recipe, and so, so easy! I love bread pudding, but rarely do I get a batch that isn't too dry...this one's methodology pretty much guarantees a nice, pudding-like result. Don't reduce the milk at all unless you like drier pudding--this doubled really easily and is easy to customize, too. Like other users have suggested, it tastes great with a specialty bread--I used a combo of King's Hawaiian soft dinner rolls and some leftover Pillsbury snowflake rolls. To go along with the sweet/Hawaiian flavors, I also added about a half cup of canned pineapple tidbits as well as the raisins. I didn't have whipping cream or a heavier cream like some users suggested, but I made the milk be half whole milk and then half evaporated milk to make it a bit creamier and sweeter. I made it in a covered casserole dish and it turned out amazing--couldn't stop eating it--definitely the best recipe I've ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this bread pudding recipe with sweet Hawaii rolls and crasins. It was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I decided to try something new for Christmas dinner's dessert. I made 1-1/2 batch and added chopped pecans. Delicious! Everyone loved it. Great with a scoop of ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjspensley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Loved this...used pecans in place of raisins and it was just solo amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Excellent base for bread pudding. With these changes it was outstanding: Cube 8 slices of bread-- I used light whole wheat. In one bowl, beat together: 4 eggs, 2 cups milk, 2/3 cup brown sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 teaspoon cinammon, 1/4 cup half and half, 1 tablespoon of rum, and 1 teaspoon of orange extract (if you don't have orange extract, almond extract is a great alternative.) Set aside. Butter a glass pan and toss the bread cubes in evenly. Then drizzle 1 tablespoon of melted butter over the bread. Take the milk mixture and pour evenly over the bread. Let it soak up the mixture for a minute or two, and press down lightly if pieces are still dry. On top, I thinly sliced two bananas-- they caramelized in the heat and added INCREDIBLE flavor and sweetness (and healthy fiber!) ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
It was very easy to make, first time doing a bread pudding. Absolutely delicious, melted in your mouth. I soaked my raisins in a little rum before for about 20 miins, added a nice dimension. Thanks so much for sharing :) Blessings from Sunny Jamaica - ERM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Yummy! Quick and easy. A nice option for old bread. I followed the recipe as written and it was very tasty. Then I made it a few more times and adapted (like adding nuts, using nutmeg or brown sugar, etc.) Those adaptations worked well too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
this was a great dessert. I made it for a play group and it was eaten all up. i would def make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I have been making this delicious breakfast/dessert substituting eggnog for the milk. This allows you to back off the sugar, and reduce the number of eggs to three, if you wish. It is definitely best made with a loaf of crusty bread, as opposed to a 2/3 of a loaf of regular bread. I substituted craisins last time I tried it, and next time will sprinkle a little grated orange zest on top for some added zing. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 2,064) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States