Bread Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Yum! Per advice of other reviews cut eggs to 3. Had some raisin walnut bread as well as some baguette-so didn't add raisins. This recipe is perfect-I made a 9x9 on Sunday (for myself for Mother's Day-treat yo self) and it'sTuesday, and per my hubbies request, there is another pan in oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
What a great recipe. My mother loved it. I used a whole loaf of bread so I doubled the recipe. The raisins were a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martin Garcia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I made it. I loved it. I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I have been craving bread pudding for a while and instead of going and buying the commercial one, I decided to try making it myself hoping to get a delicious, simple and quick recipe, and I have found it here. So 5 stars for being nice, simple and effective. It came out of the oven about 15 minutes ago. I just had a nice warm slice and it tastes great. Luckily I reduced the sugar to a little less than 1/2 cup but I still found it to be slightly too sweet but not that bad. I also added about 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and definitely getting that flavor there. Oh, and I reduced the milk to 1 cup because for 6 slices of bread I thought 2 cups would have made the bread pudding bread gravy. It still came out light and fluffy. I guess I have to wait and see if the result is still good when it gets cold. All in all , will try again and add my twists to it as I go along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This is wonderful pudding, it is even better after it has sat a day or two. It firms up and can eat it like cake. YUMMY..... I doubled the recipe for a 9x13 pan, only used 6 eggs, sprinkled some chopped walnuts, and dried cherries, raisens and dried cranberries over the bread and then added the milk and egg mixture. I used sliced loaf bread....Delicious! Another one is in the oven now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GrannyGwilt
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I used chocolate chips and sweetener instead of sugar and sultanas/raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This recipe was great. I did adjust slightly by adding a little more bread, a little more cinnamon and some nutmeg, then right before putting in the oven i drizzled some reduced fat sweetened condensed milk over the top. I baked this in a disposable shallow pasta pan and while in the oven it puffed up right above the rim and then once i took it out it deflated to half the height. When I served this warm I drizzled a little more of the milk on top. Will definitely continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Great recipe and moist! My husband doesn't like bread pudding or raisins. I changed it to use diced apples and diced canned peach slices, a tiny bit of cinnamon and brown sugar on top prior and then used only 1/2 c brown sugar instead of white. (I sometimes use a combo of the canned peach juice for almost a cup, add buttermilk for a bit and regular milk. Other times a combo of a half cup buttermilk and the rest 2% milk or half and half cream) It's nice! My husband actually eats this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Excellent even when made exclusively with whole wheat crusts and heels! I have a child who decided to never eat a crust again when he turned four (he's now six). After leaving them on for months and watching the waste, I finally started cutting off the crusts and putting them in the freezer. Now, I regularly use them in this recipe. I love that the heels and crusts my son refuses to touch normally are turned into something he loves! All four of us love it, in fact. And no wasted crusts and heels. When I'm ready to make it, I take the crusts and heels out of the freezer in the morning and let them thaw. In the afternoon, I put them in the oven for a bit. Then I break it up and use it. I try to stick to the recipe as written, but it is very forgiving. I often use three eggs instead of four. I have never used the raisins. Often we pour milk on our portions before eating. It's deliciously sweet and yummy as written. So much so, that I might cut back the sugar to 1/2 cup. Not because it's too sweet but just to experiment with how "healthy" I can make it and still make it lovable. Thank you for an awesome, versatile, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States