Bread Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Great recipe but I have always toasted the bread first and then added butter to the toast and rubbed cinnamon on the toast and cut the toast into four squares and placed on the bottom of the dish ..added the rains on top and then all the other ingredients ...This is my mother's recipe...I. Also put the sugar on the toast ,just rubbed in with the cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pizzagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This was nice and easy, to do with my daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjackson13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Excellent but since I cut up whatever bread I have - my ratio of bread to eggs and milk is : 8 cups of bread to 4 cups of milk and 4 eggs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I use kaiser rolls from the store deli. Usually 4 is just enough. I love this so much better than French toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This was great! I also added more bread to the recipe to soak up all of the mixture as other reviews had said it was too "eggy". I also added an easy touch to the end of the recipe. I just took some vanilla frosting and drizzled over the finished product. I did not have time to make a home made vanilla drizzle, but this worked just fine! Cannot wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Added blueberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My B. Trinh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Tasty. I used 2 different types of leftover white buns and some multigrain bread that I pulled out of the freezer. I soaked the raisins in 1/4 cup of Amaretto until the raisins plumped up. Used half and half cream, Used only 1/2 cup of brown sugar (no white sugar), perhaps next time I'll a bit of maple syrup. Used 2 large and 2 small eggs. Doubled cinnamon and added nutmeg. Added chopped pecans. Let casserole stand for 30+ mins before baking to allow the liquids to absorb. For me, 1/2 cup of brown sugar is plenty since the 1/4 cup of Amaretto is sweet. Next time I will use 4 large eggs and some extra milk/cream since the mixed bread out of the freezer is pretty dry. Did not use melted butter on top since using half and half cream... One downfall was the top didn't brown and crisp up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arix3
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
The most inexpensive recipe EVER!!! And extremely easy to do! The only adjustment I made was the reduction of the sugar to taste. My suggestion is to refrigerate the pudding for a few hours, the result is to die for. Enjoyyyyyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Really yummy recipe! I've never had bread pudding before, and I've definitely never made it, so I wasn't sure how it was going to turn out. I'm pleased with the result! I need to buy a new 8x8, so I increased the recipe by 50% to fit in an 11x8. I tried some after 50 minutes of cooking, and it was creamy and custardy (or soggy, depending on viewpoint) in the middle. I put it in for another 10 minutes, and it tasted much more cooked--quite a bit more eggy in the middle. I liked both ways, but for food safety purposes, a little longer is better for us. The reason I gave it 4 stars is because it's a very sweet recipe--definitely good for dessert; not as awesome for breakfast. I see why so many people put apples on it; that would add some tartness for balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Peterson
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I Liked it a lot but couldn't love it because it had an eggy taste. Other than that it was good. I did a raisin and apple bread pudding, it was easy enough to make so for those reasons I gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,083) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States