Bread Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Fantastic! One of my favorite recipes. I use Italian bread and Sunmaid Jumbo raisins (they're plump and juicy and have a mix of different raisins) instead of golden raisins and spice with cinnamon, cardamom and mace (added with the milk) and sprinkle very lightly with nutmeg before baking. Great warm, good cold too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Real easy & really good...makes alot. Yummy way to use leftover bread & baked goods
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWMETZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
This has the consistency of yorkshire pudding and is not sweet at all. I should have known it would have no taste since the recipe didn't call for any spices such as cinnamon or cloves or nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This was nice. I used some Italian boule bread that I had left over and this dessert came out very good. Nice and crispy around the edges and the golden raisins was a nice sweet addition. My husband and I both liked this with a bit of whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Excellent! Perfect consistency, perfect taste, incredibly easy. I also tried the vanilla sauce recipe given in the reviews. Also very tasty. I didn't measure the raisins. I just added until it looked like enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
WoW! Something so simple & tasting really good. I just made this and had to sample it when it came out of the oven (hot but yummy) and it's everything you would have in your pantry. I used to have this when I was a kid growing up and boy does it bring back some fond memories. I will definately make this again & again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEEPERLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Excellent! Definitely add cinnamon and nutmeg, it gives it the little extra zing it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I made this for a group that meets at my church and they absolutely loved it. I'm making it again for a potluck at church, I know it will go over very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
VERY GOOD!! My entire family LOVED it!! Everyone was eating seconds. I used cinnamon raisin bread and regular bread. I also added a little more raisins, nutmeg and cinnamon. Also 1/2 eggnog and 1/2 milk. I used this simple recipe for vanilla sauce... Serve this vanilla sauce with bread pudding or any other dessert. INGREDIENTS: 1/2 cup sugar 1 tablespoon cornstarch 1 cup boiling water 2 tablespoons butter 1 teaspoon vanilla extract dash salt PREPARATION: In small saucepan combine sugar and cornstarch. Stir in 1 cup boiling water. Simmer, stirring constantly, for 5 minutes. Stir in 2 tablespoons butter, vanilla extract and salt; blend well. Thank you for such a great addition to my Christmas dinner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conneaut, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Over all i have to say this is the best bread pudding weve ever had and it was so easy to make.Ive never made bread pudding before but i tell ya theres nothing to it. Even my 10 year old helped.My husband loved it he said its the best hes ever tasted.I did modify a little according to some of the reviews.I added cinnamon for that holiday taste and i didnt use the golden raisins i used the regular raisins.I also put in a little more vanilla for taste and instead of 2 cups of sugar i used 1 and a 1/2 cups.Over all ill be making this for years to come.Not to mention my husband took the bread to work he said everyone was raving about it and now there always harrasing him for me to make more.Thanks for sharing this recipe ill always use it for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States