Bread Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This was the best. My boyfriend ate it up!! The only thing I changed was I went to Casey's gas station and bought a box of "day old donuts" and broke them up instead of bread. It's more calories, but with the different donuts, you get a lot more tastes. Mom's been doing this for years, and I can't get her recipe, so I'll pull this on out everytime!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Knob Noster, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Finally, a simple bread pudding recipe! I've been looking for the basic bread, egg, and milk recipe. I used pumpkin pie spice and it tasted wonderful. I really appreciate how versatile it is. I'm sure egg nog is great but it being after Christmas, the spices worked well.! Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Excellent! Back to basics, as it should be. From here you can take this basic, down-home recipe any whereever your present tastes wish to go. Thanks! GRM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I took a reviewers idea of using Egg Nog instead of milk, adding a pinch of nutmeg and mace, and replaced the raisins with Craisins. We loved it!! Now that Borden provides canned egg nog in quart cans, we don't have to wait for Christmas to enjoy this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Made this recipe twice in the weekend, and both times it sank in the middle and was rubbery. Sorry, but won't make this one again. unless I find out what went wrong. thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Very good..everyone loved it! I used regular raisins instead of golden and I added 1tsp of each nutmeg and cinnamon like one other person said. I also made the vanilla sauce to go with it...yum! It was all gone before it cooled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Very nice. I omitted the raisins and added a couple of tablespoons of leftover Solo Poppy seed filling from cookie baking, a diced apple, I used half brown sugar and half white and half a tsp of orange extract as well as a pinch of salt. Very easy recipe with little cleanup. Bread pudding is allways so versitile and it's a great use for the bread i'm allways baking. If you butter the pan and sprinkle it with a little sugar, it makes for a great crispy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
My husband said this was the best bread pudding he ever had! I added about 2tsp cinnamon and 1/2 cup chopped apples instead of raisins, which gave it a nice texture. The only thing I'd change is to use less sugar next time - it was too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This is the best, my family loves it. This will be my only bread pudding, now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewels4007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biggar, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
yum yum. i used less than a loaf of bread (store bought), 1/2 cup of left over condensed milk, 3 1/2 cup of milk, and 1 cup of sugar... everything else stayed the same. oh yes, and i sprinkled nutmeg and cinnamon on top right before i baked it (only because i read a review that said it was too plain for him). i also made one of the sauce that was recommended on this recipe's review, but this bread pudding could do without. my family, and my picky nieces and nephews had more than seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States