Bread Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this recipe for my New Year's Day dinner and it was a hit. My mom (who hates bread pudding) loved it! Since I like a firmer pudding with more bread & less custard, I used about an extra half-cup of bread cubes. It came out perfect for my taste - firm but still sweet and creamy - with just a hint of nutmeg and a wonderful vanilla aroma and taste. I did alter the recipe a bit by using half milk & half cream. I've made others and tasted others but this is my favorite bread pudding! This recipe is very easy to follow and the results seem foolproof. It is awesome alone but you can "kick it up a notch" with the Brown Sugar Sauce recipe on this site. Thanks so much for submitting this great recipe! It is going to be my traditional New Year's dinner dessert YAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Really good. Bain-marie baking gives me a lovely custard texture and I loved it! I baked two batches in one day just because it was so simple and so tasty at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coriang

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Butterworth, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
we loved this on , i used raisn cinomon swirl bread and we love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I USED THIS RECIPE LAST THANKSGIVING. WILL USE IT AGAIN THIS YEAR... ITS THE ONE THING I MADE LAST YEAR , MY FAMILY IS ASKING FOR AGAIN AND AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
The texture was good but the flavor was bland. I used good bread and the finest ingredients ... I won't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beeaditude

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Great bread pudding!! I made a few slight changes...I used half cream & half milk, crossaints instead of french bread and increased the amount of bread significantly. I didn't have nuts so I just topped with brown sugar, cinnamon & nutmeg. I also made the brown sugar sauce from this site and served the bread pudding with it. WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This was so good! I used Chocolate Bread from the "When Pigs Fly" Bakery, and omitted the nutmeg and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This bread pudding is great one of the best I've ever tasted. I made it on Christmas day this year and last, this will be one that I will make ever Christmas dinnner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This is a really good recipe for basic bread pudding. Mine turned out a little dry on top so next time I will make a little more of the pudding. I also added chocolate chips - a handful in between the first and second layers of bread and another handful on top. This is my husband's favorite way to eat bread pudding and it turned out pretty yummy. I also used cinnamon instead of nutmeg because my husband is allergic to nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
This pudding have a very good texture and easy to be cut into small portion without any problem. The only problem is that I forget to sprinkle brown sugar before bake it but it's still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States