Bread Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2000
The lemon sauce on this one is awesome! I loved it. The bread pudding itself was also great but the lemon sauce was the best. Definitely worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
Delicious! I added a bit of vanilla and it was superb! I will definately keep this recipe and share the joy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
I used day old french bread for this recipe and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
This is just like the one my mom made when I was little . Always a favorite of my daddys . I made some for them the other day since my mom had long since lost the recipe ... It was gone in a flash ! Yum ! Origionally out of a 1950's Betty Crocker cookbook if I remember right . We won't lose this one again . P.S. This sauce is wonderful with pound or Angel Food cake too !Lora
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Perfect. I was in the middle of making this when I realized I was late for an appointment, so I set my oven cook timer and prayed for the best. I cooked it exactly as indicated and even had the sauce ingredients in the pot but not cooked yet. So, I came home and looked at it and it was beautiful sitting there in my oven. The sauce turned out delicious too even though I got impatient and poured more clear jell into the sauce to thicken it quicker... then it got a little clumpy, but it was still SO tasty. I always save my heels of bread and stick them in the freezer so I can make a bread pudding when I have enough. Takes about 14-16 heels I think to make a bread pudding! :D The more the better. I dumped the bread/sugar mixture into my greased pan BEFORE I poured in the milk mixture... then I poured the milk mixture over the cubed bread, making sure to get it all soaked. This helped to keep the bread from falling apart (I've done that before!). This is an exceptional recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I didn't care for the lemon sauce but used the creamy vanilla sauce from another bread pudding recipe that was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mexico, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Wow... just like mom made... very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
A delicious, custardy bread pudding. I made it with day old sourdough bread and added the raisins, and that lemon sauce! Deluxe, mmm mmm very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jml

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This wonderful recipe is quick to make, tasted wonderful to everyone and will be made again in our home. Have tried many recipes and found this one to be a smooth, easy make in the kitchen. This recipe is highly recommended to anyone who wants to make this dessert quickly become a family favorite of yours too! The lemon sauce was stupendous, loved the flavor, not to strong and not to little. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe for me to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
Very tasty indeed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States