Bread Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Delicious! I made Cream Anglaise II also from this site for the sauce instead of the lemon...But the bread pudding turned out perfect I sprinkled with a little extra cinnamon before baking, and added a cinnamon raison bagel to the bread mix for extra texture. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Perfect. I was in the middle of making this when I realized I was late for an appointment, so I set my oven cook timer and prayed for the best. I cooked it exactly as indicated and even had the sauce ingredients in the pot but not cooked yet. So, I came home and looked at it and it was beautiful sitting there in my oven. The sauce turned out delicious too even though I got impatient and poured more clear jell into the sauce to thicken it quicker... then it got a little clumpy, but it was still SO tasty. I always save my heels of bread and stick them in the freezer so I can make a bread pudding when I have enough. Takes about 14-16 heels I think to make a bread pudding! :D The more the better. I dumped the bread/sugar mixture into my greased pan BEFORE I poured in the milk mixture... then I poured the milk mixture over the cubed bread, making sure to get it all soaked. This helped to keep the bread from falling apart (I've done that before!). This is an exceptional recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I'll add a little less sugar next time, because this tastes a bit like dessert, whereas I like bread pudding for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I've only tried bread pudding once before and it was a disaster but this recipe was great. I added some wheat bread which gave it a nice marble look and a couple of old bagels which gave it a nice texture. I did add extra cinnamon. I didn't not use the lemon sauce but tried the pecan praline from another recipe. I will try the lemon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Excellent! This is even better than Mom used to make! I used homemade white rolls and broke them up into my 9 by 9 baker. I baked for 50 minutes and it came out fabulous. Next time I'll try it with the lemon sauce, as I didn't have a fresh one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamperedVictoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bear River City, Utah, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I'm giving this 4 stars because while both my husband and 3yo son had second helpings. I couldn't finish mine. I followed the recipe using egg bread. The flavor was great, but I didn't care for the mushy texture. I've never had bread pudding before - maybe it's supposed to be mushy? Just thought I'd warn people out there who are mush-phobes like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meesakelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emerald Isle, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I didn't care for the lemon sauce but used the creamy vanilla sauce from another bread pudding recipe that was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mexico, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Bug (my husband) thought this was great! He wanted bourbon sauce instead of lemon, but otherwise, followed the recipe using stale Cuban bread and skim milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatka, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Wow... just like mom made... very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
A delicious, custardy bread pudding. I made it with day old sourdough bread and added the raisins, and that lemon sauce! Deluxe, mmm mmm very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jml

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States