Bread Pudding Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I didn't use a crust as I didn't think it was necessary. I substituted sour cream sweetened with a little sugar for the yogurt as I didn't have yogurt. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This recipe is amazin've made it a couple times, took it to a big family dinner everybody loved it. I added raisins and drizzled caramel over the top. I will never make old bread pudding again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I'd probably give this a 4.5 stars in reality. But it's a really delicious dessert! I used a shop-bought pie crust, and it didn't cook completely unfortunately, so if I made it again, I might try partially cooking it first. But the filling and topping was really good. The bread pretty much melted and my son who doesn't like normal bread pudding loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Didn't use a crust. Used 3 granny smith apples and 3.5 pieces of whole wheat bread, lightly toasted. Also, added 1/8 tsp allspice as someone suggested. Last, I only used half the sugar, knowing it would be significantly less sweet, but wanting to try it, in hopes of being healthier; an experiment. Results - Not sweet enough for a dessert, alone, but with a little ice cream on top, perfect. You may think that defeats the purpose, but the alternative, full sugar would be much worse! Here's the best part though - can have it for breakfast and not feel guilty at all. I did it w/a few spoonfuls of plain yogurt on top. Excellent texture. Delicious. Might try with chopped toasted walnuts next time or some ground flax to add a contrasting texture. Yummy though, just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Delicious! As others said, I needed to use a loaf of bread and some apples before they went bad. I didn't have applesauce, so I added a little milk instead (like regular bread pudding). To keep it healthier, I didn't do the topping or the crust. That way it's more like a breakfast bake that's healthy and filling. I would probably throw in a little salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This is one of the best pies I have ever made and I go out of my way to make as many pies as possible. Moist and rich in flavor with no flavor being too overpowering. Goes well with vanilla ice cream. I highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving. It was a hit. I followed the recipe using Granny Smith apples and for the bread I used Hawaiian bread...mmmmmm. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dani
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Marvelous, even without the crust. I used fruit and berry rye bread and added a bit of cinnamon to the crumble topping. It turned out to be very similar to a coffee cake. For a drier, firmer texture, I would use only one apple or maybe a bit less yogurt or applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
No need to put into a pie shell. It's just as good without and reduces the fat/calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was pretty good, but would probably choose to make plain bread pudding next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States