Bread Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
For a basic, easy recipe this one is really good! The texture turned out excellent even though I just used all purpose flour (not bread flour). Would be a great pretzel/bread stick recipe to do with kids as it doesn't have any extra steps (like boiling before baking) and yields a yummy result. Good dipped in salsa...mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
This recipe makes the best breadsticks. I spread butter on them and then top with garlic salt or cinnamon before baking. My kids ask for them almost everyday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2001
I found the recipe to be very easy and very good, although the prep time was at least 1 hour not the 15 minutes the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
Excellent recipe! However, we found that by only making 6 pretzels they were much bigger and kids seemed to like that better. NOTE: If you are having a hard time finding Kosher salt, go to the liquor department and get a container of margarita salt. It works just perfect as a substitute for the kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Was looking for a kid-friendly recipe where I could bring all the ingredients to school and we'd be successful. Did not want to bother with the boiling, as we didn't have time or facility to do so. Very pleased with results - several parents at our event requested the recipe. Definitely better when making only 6 pretzels per recipe. We made 7 recipes for 50-60 people, and all enjoyed the experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wahpeton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Grandin, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
These pretzels were awesome. The dont taste exactly like the mall ones but for homemade pretzels they are DELICOUS!!i highly recomend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Fast, fun and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
These were okay, but just a little too crunchy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Madonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I like to substitute half of the flour for whole wheat flour and use 1 tsp brown sugar instead of white. Try dipping the pretzels in a baking soda bath (2 c hot water, 2 TB baking soda, then drain) before salting and baking. It helps give it an all-over browning. It definitely is a more "bready" pretzel than the traditional mall style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I thought these were very good, but I did dip into baking soda water before cooking. I don't know how it would be possible to get 12 pretzels from this recipe. I was able to get 2 small pretzels and 2 breadsticks. I also thought 12-15 minutes was too long to cook. I cooked for 10 minutes and they were still rather crunchy on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States