Bread Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
These pretzels were awesome. The dont taste exactly like the mall ones but for homemade pretzels they are DELICOUS!!i highly recomend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
these were ok, better as regular bread stix baked with garlic salt. the cinnamon sugar was just not hitting that spot tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Forget-Me-Not

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
you forgot one thing, after the shaping , and before the baking , your unbaked pretzels must be poached in baking soda water to get the that pretzel shell and taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Drexler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lebanon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I like to substitute half of the flour for whole wheat flour and use 1 tsp brown sugar instead of white. Try dipping the pretzels in a baking soda bath (2 c hot water, 2 TB baking soda, then drain) before salting and baking. It helps give it an all-over browning. It definitely is a more "bready" pretzel than the traditional mall style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
These were okay, but just a little too crunchy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Madonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
These were quick and easy to make. I found that they don't have a lot of taste, but are a decent snack if you eat them the same day you make them. I also brushed mine with butter, and added garlic salt with the butter on half of them, and that extra flavor helped a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by digitalgurll
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
the flour was too much .. i had 1/2 cup of flour leftover .. but its very yummy! :D i used regular rock salt on top .. was able to make 8 tiny ones :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
not at all like the mall pretzles. Won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I can't believe my tastebuds are that outta line with the other reviewers. These had no flavor at all. They didn't taste a bit like the big pretzels at the mall. Will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
These are very good. I love pretzels but my husband is not so keen on them, so I made half in a pretzel shape with salt and the other half I made into bread sticks. We both loved them. One thing I did do differently though, is I brushed them with butter instead of egg. These are so much easier than most recipes and just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States