Bread Pot Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This was a pretty good recipe (sorry for the terrible photo - I tried, I really did but its a hard one to capture). You do have to heat the filling before baking it or it would never heat all the way thru before the bread would dry out. I don't think this is a "company recipe". Its kind of hard to eat gracefully (kind of like BBQ ribs), but the flavors were good. Next time, I might skip the bread bowl baking concept and just heat it in a crock pot or fondue pot. I did this recipe as a part of the Western Region's Faceless Frenzy July 2012.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This was AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saritah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I just made this for New Years Eve and it was great with a couple of tweaks. I added extra cheddar cheese and sour cream. I also added 2 cans of Rotel tomatoes, juice and all. This made a great difference in taste. It made the consistency more like a dip than a spread and it added some needed flavor. I used a pound of bacon instead of the ham. The toasted bread was a great addition! My kids also ate it with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I have made a version of this for years. No ham or meat at all. I use low fat sour cream and cream cheese. And instead of diced chili peppers and Worcestershire, I add 1/4 to 1/2 cup or more of my favorite salsa. I make additional toasted bread cubes using an additional french loaf. Also, if you make ahead and in the frig, it nees longer than one hour to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanjosemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Very good, I halved the recipe and it still made tons. I also heated everything on the stovetop before adding it to my bread bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I have made this recipe for years. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I cooked this in a casserole dish and added to bread bowl afterwards. I toasted the cut up bread chunks in the oven after I sprayed them with spray-magerine and sprinkle them with seasoned salt. Yummmmmm! Everyone LOVE it!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I made this in the microwave and then served it in a mini-crockpot to avoid the stated problem of it taking too long in the oven. People stood around the crockpot dipping the toasted bread and tortilla chips in it, ignoring most of the other offerings at the party. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
this is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Great recipe for a party! Something good but different. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Potluck Pepperoni Bread

What's cooking in Charlotte? Suzi's versatile potluck pepperoni bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States