Bread Maker Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I don't even know how these turned out so wonderful. I'm terrible with yeast, but I have made these three times now. Every time was a success, and they were all gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Pretty good recipe. I added a smidgen of nutmeg for flavor. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I had tried this as directed a few times. It wouldn't rise though they puffed up nicely when frying still my results weren't doughnut like. I recently saw another doughnut recipe that was very similar ingredient wise. Using advise from there and only a slight change in ingredients I got very good results. First melt the butter, combine it with milk, sugar, and egg make sure this mixture is warm but not to warm. Add this mixture to bread maker mix salt with flour add to maker. Put yeast on top. I ended up adding an extra 1/8-1/4 cup of flour while the dough was kneading as the dough was way to soft other wise. The other recipe was a refrigerator recipe so you may be able to yet away with the soft dough if refrigerating but the extra flour is a must if you are not. I just made a batch last night I doubled the recipe cooked a third of the dough right away and refrigerated the rest and cooked this morning. To refrigerate add a little oil to a glass bowl roll the dough in the oil to coat cover and refrigerate. Last nights doughnuts where good much better then previous efforts with this recipe. this mornings were great. With this mornings I took the extra step of letting an oven heat up a bit then adding a pan of hot water to help hold the temp and letting them rise in there. It may account for the difference in quality between last nights and this mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Millington, Maryland, USA
Living In: East Point, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These were easy to make but had no real taste, even after being sprinkled with powdered sugar. So-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildwing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I loved these! I glazed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I doubled recipe and used half white, half wheat flour. They turned out wonderfully. My kids and grandkids loved them. I made some with glaze, frosting with sprinkles and filled some with raspberry jam. will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Okay recipe but leaving the doughnuts in 350 degree oil for 3 minutes insures a burnt product. I found a minute and a half to be just about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very dense and yummy. I rolled them in cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
making these for the first time, I'm a newbie at the bread machine as well, might be a silly question but do I melt the butter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Deer Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Just made these this morning for our New Year's breakfast and they turned out beautifully. Light and fluffy and perfect with cinnamon sugar. We shared some but I think next time we'll keep them all for ourselves :)! I did let them rise in a warm oven to speed things up a little. Can't wait to try them again and I think we will try them with glaze next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States