Bread Maker Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Really hit the spot! I melted the butter and added the wet ingredients first ( following my bread machine's instructions). Everyone loved them and the second batch is mixing now. This recipe is a keeper. Thank you for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Nasseri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
My first attempt at doughnuts - baked or fried - and my second time to use our deep fryer in about a decade. That being said, I thought the finished product was a little heavy, but this could have been part of me trying to rise the doughnuts in a slightly warm oven with a cup of water inside. However, once the glaze was on, my crew took the doughnuts down quickly. I did double the recipe since I did not see how many the recipe made (16) until a little late. To cut my holes, I used a tea kettle whistle. In my Presto Fry Daddy, three minutes would have burnt the doughnuts as another reviewer stated. I found 30 seconds on each side was about right. I also fried the remaining holes, using my metal slotted spoons to keep the bundle under the oil most of the time for a more even finish. I made a chocolate glaze using the chocolate frosting recipe on the side of the Hershey's Cocoa box, adding more milk for a glaze consistency. I halved the recipe, but it could easily be quartered if you are making a single recipe. Even with a double recipe of doughnuts, I still have glaze left over. For the "plain" doughnuts and holes, I made a basic glaze of 4 tbsps butter, ~3/4 cup powdered sugar, and ~2tbsps fat free milk. My kids and husband enjoyed these, and the oldest child (5) thinks we should open a doughnut shop. We made this as part of our homeschool curriculum after reading the doughnut story in Robert McCloskey's "Homer Price."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I melted butter, added plenty of sugar and a little vanilla. After taking the donuts from the pan they got a good coating of this glazing. Recipe worked first time, great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
These turned out fantastic. The kids loved them. I will have to make more soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I lost my famous bread maker donut recipe and this one was the closest one to what I remembered. Substituted half the butter for extra milk. (Why have extra fat, right?) The dough was supple, pliable and was perfect with 1 tsp vanilla bean paste added. Very flavorful dough because of the extra salt and sugar. My company responded with "You should sell your donuts, Jen."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was my first foray into sweet yeast dough and from what I read after the fact, sugar retards the growth of yeast. So next time, I will just add one tablespoon or so of sugar and maybe up the yeast a bit. As written they were very dense and I let them rise a couple of hours. Good flavor dough though, just a little technicality to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicxstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I give these 4 stars for ease and taste. Very easy to make, not much mess and the possibilities are endless as far as toppings go. It's a basic donut that u can play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
it good I like it ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiannaLove1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
The doughnuts did not rise at all, the dough ball was just sitting in the bottom of the pan. I cut them and fried them up anyways, they were edible but really dense. I would not make this recipe again. I tried again (another recipe) and used a yeast mixture with warm water, as well as scalding the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieFl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
this is easily the worst recipe I have ever found on this site. I made them exactly as the recipe said and the result was absolutely inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States