Bread Machine Swedish Coffee Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bullet
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
like several people here, I subbed a mix of spices instead of cardamom because I didn't have any. I'm sure with cardamom it's divine, but I'm really impressed with the texture of this bread. it's soft and fluffy and totally addictive. great presentation as well. I let mine rise a long time...a few hours... since my kitchen was kind of chilly, then lightly heated it in an open oven set on low for a few minutes to really ramp up the yeast. it rose beautifully when baking as well. perfect recipe. I think this will be my new go-to for sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very good. I made this for my dad, who is Swedish, and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aghaveagh Faer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
OK, thank God for reviews because I never went with the 3 tsps. of cardamom. 1 tsp. is plenty of flavor for this recipe. Aside from that, this IS my go to recipe for Swedish braided loaf. Coming from a large Swedish family who had a restaurant and catering business, this is the recipe that tastes most like the bread my Nana always made. I also use bread machine yeast, (2 1/4 tsps.) Comes out nice every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Very good just like my mom made, using the bread machine makes this so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Schinkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrison, New York, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Used this recipe several times, always turns out great! Depending on who's eating it I may use cinnamon instead of cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celestialalyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Village, Indiana, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
made this for a meeting with the women and everyone wanted the recipe thanks for making me feel like a pro..... anytime we have a huge get together with alot of people I make these and they always disappear.... never any left over's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Yum! I just bought a jar of ground cardamom for the first time and decided to try this recipe as my first experiment with the spice. I didn't have any sugar in the house, so I used Sweetleaf Sugar Leaf which is a mix of cane sugar and Sweet Leaf Stevia. I used just a little over 1/4 cup to substitute for the 1/3 cup sugar. I also added about 1/8 teaspoon to 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon. When the dough came out of the bread machine it seemed a bit dry, although it could have been my fault since I forgot to check it during the initial 10 minutes in the machine to see if I should have added more milk. I wet my hands just a tad as I rolled out the three dough ropes to add a little bit of moisture. I let it rise for about an hour on top of my stove as the oven preheated. Seemed to take a while to rise since the dough was so dense. Brushed it with half of the egg wash half way into the rise and then brushed it again with the egg wash at the end of the rise. Sprinkled more of the Sweetleaf stevia/cane sugar on top before baking in the oven. Bread looked beautiful as it baked, but took about 15 minutes longer than specified in the recipe to cook fully. In the end the bread turned out marvelously delicious despite all of my worries. My kids even liked it. Looking forward to eating a slice in the morning with my coffee! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Walz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Made this several times for company. Always a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Since I don't have a bread machine, I warmed the milk before adding the yeast to it. I then used my KitchenAid mixer to complete the process of mixing and kneading. After about 10 minutes I had a beautiful smooth ball of dough. The dough was very easy to work with; it makes a gorgeous loaf of bread that slices and toasts easily. I used the suggestion of another reviewer and put the loaf in a previously warmed oven to rise. Heat oven for one minute at 400 degrees, then turn off. Immediately place loaf in oven until double in size. So happy to be adding this recipe to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Love, love, love! I misplaced my original recipe that I cut out of the Chicago Tribune about 15 yrs ago. Thank goodness I found this version - I loved being able to put everything in the bread machine and only having to do the braiding and second rising. I also didn't have ground cardamon on hand but had 6 - 8 cardamon pods which I ground fresh. It yielded about 1 tsp vs the 3 tsp the recipe called for but it was very potent thanks to the fresh grinding; the cardamon flavor came through loud and clear. The old recipe also made 3 loaves so it's nice to be able to just make one at a time with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States