Spelt does contain gluten and is not suitable for those who are coeliac, however its gluten can be eaten by most who are intolerent to wheat. I use Spelt for all my baking, bread, cakes, cookies etc using any wheat recipe I find! the key is adjusting quanties of liquid added and kneading/mixing times. Keep any kneading to a minimum, after 3-4 mins the gluten will collapse. Add more liquid than the recipe calls for, you want your mixture to be marginally "sloppier" than when using wheat, this will make your end product light and airy. If you treat spelt like wheat in recipes you will end up with a very dense result. (as I found out when I first started)
Was this review helpful?
282 users found this review helpful
Spelt does contain gluten and is not suitable for those who are coeliac, however its gluten...