Bread Machine Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I really love these. I had never used the dough function on my bread machine bcuz I was gone when it was recieved and person who unpakd it disposed of instructions. I made these because I needed sandwich buns. I divided into 8 parts, baked 15 min, then returned for another 5 for total 20-done at 15 but I wanted them a little firmer and browner for my purpose. Nice soft crust on outside and soft and airey inside. *see note below. Delicious. I used almost 1 c milk, and rest (to mke 1 1/4) was water. As sandwich buns they are tasty and I will use them again, but they are very soft so if you are making heavy duty sandwichs, better use something else. Light for hamburgers, but if u aren't adding a ton of extra "dressings", they will be fine. *NOTE: MY MACHINE RISES TWICE ON DOUGH FUNCTION-since it beeped before the second kned and rise, maybe I was supposed to take it out then. I left it in there almost halfway through the second rise-since i don't have the handbook and recipe duznt say, I didn't know if I was supposed to take it out or not. Then I took dough out, broke into 8 pieces (buns) carefully shaped and put on large baking sheet to raise again for about an hour before baking. I don't know if this was right or wrong, or affected the outcome, but they were really good. Next time, when I make them for rolls, I will probably do the same again. Apparently, you can't mess these up.-- if anyone knows what the "right thing to do" was, let me know. Also, I proofed the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Great rolls, even though I didn't wait the 40 minutes for the dough to rise. They still turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I followed recipe but these turned out like bricks. I should have used my tried and true buttery bread machine rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Very good! Used for bierocks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This is a great go to recipe for rolls. Love that you can make them in the bread machine. I often make them in the morning and put them in the pan and cover with plastic wrap in the fridge for the second rise and cook them at dinner time. They come out great. I also rarely brush them with egg white and they are still great. Good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I have made these rolls countless times since finding this recipe. Incredibly easy and amazingly delicious! Follow the recipe as is...I promise you will not be disappointed!! These also make awesome hamburger buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
These rolls are great. I served them as dinner rolls but they would make great hamburger or sandwich buns as well. I made only a few changes. I reduced the sugar to 2 tablespoons and included the 1 egg white in with the wet ingredients. I also used All Purpose Flour because that was what I had on hand. I brushed the rolls with melted butter both before and right after baking. This ensures a beautiful brown color and also keeps them soft. I sprinkled them lightly with poppy seeds as well after the butter brush and before baking. You could also use sesame seeds, etc. I always put my dough ingredients into the bread machine in the order of wet at the bottom, then all dry ingredients, then yeast on top. Have never been disappointed using that order for dough. It did take my rolls a little longer than 40 minutes, more like an hour to double after coming out of the bread machine. I made 18 smaller rolls which were perfect for dinner. 12 would be a good size for a large sandwich. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Great recipe! the whole family loved these rolls at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlyn Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Good flavor, but a little heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMCLRH2O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
The first time I made this recipe I was completely distracted and just tossed all the ingredients in at the same time. Egg whites, everything.... the result was the most fluffy and buttery rolls!!! (I did spread butter on the rolls before baking) My guests flipped over my goof!! Now I am required to bring these rolls to every large meal. I did try a test and made 2 batches. One my goof recipe and the other the originoriginal recipe. There was a significant differedifference and my goof won. One of the best mistakes I have ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States