Bread Machine Pumpernickel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
This is the best pumpernickel bread recipe and it can be made in the bread machine! I tried this, looking for a quick recipe that didn't require all the work to make it, and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windom, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
5 star for the taste of it. It didn't rise like I thought It should, but I didn't use a bread machine, and I also have never made pumpernickel before, so maybe it's not supposed to rise. My husband Loved it. Makes great sandwiches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This is a great pumpernickel bread recipe. It turns out perfect. I follow the recipe exactly, except I don't add caraway seed because I don't like them, and vital wheat gluten, because I never have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This came out perfect in my bread machine. I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
In the words of Grandpa Frank on the sitcom "Everybody Loves Raymond" : "Liked the hamster, Loved the bread!".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hillard, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
Awesome! This is the best pumpernickle bread I have ever made. Will add to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
We love this recipe! I have made it probably five or six times already. From experimentation, I prefer to cut the caraway seeds to 1-1/2 teaspoons, and the cocoa to 2-1/2 tablespoons, and increase the yeast to 3 teaspoons. I found that dissolving the molasses in the warm water helps, too. I prefer using strong blackstrap molasses in this recipe- it gives the bread a more robust flavor. Also, this bread actually turns out better on the quick cycle in my breadmaker than on the whole wheat or multi-grain settings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Scott Andrews

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Absolutely the best bread machine recipe I've tried. I do have to add 3TBL for our bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I used black strap molasses instead of regular. The bread came out perfectly and is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I've been making this for years and really enjoy this bread. I usually add raisins also. It is very moist and always rises nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States