Bread Machine Pumpernickel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
yum...yum...and YUM! No caraway seeds - no bread machine. Excellent flavor, texture, color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Definitely deserves to be in my regular weekly bread making rotation! I followed the recommendations of B. Scott Andrews by reducing the amounts of caraway and cocoa and increasing the amount of yeast. (thank you!) I mixed in the bread machine and then shaped into a round loaf and let rise and baked in the oven. The crust is excellent! Very tasty...Looks great too! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
My husband is a pumpernickel bread fan so I thought I would try this recipes (I really like using my bread machine). Other than the top of the loaf being very hard, he really enjoyed it. Said that it was a "keeper". (note: I didn't use caraway seeds or gluten as I did not have any on hand)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeeKum

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
My son loved this! I made it as dough and let it rise and baked it in the oven. Came out very very good! (I left out the caraway and gluten)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
It was good . Nice and easy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I have been searching for a bread to compare with the bread they serve at Lone Star and this is it! I set my breadmaker for need and first rise / formed the dough into a loaf and baked at 400 degrees for 30 min. The loaf was perfect! Thank you for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I'm not sure what I did wrong but the bread was just crumbs and didn't turn into proper dough, so I added more water. When it was finished baking it became a very hard loaf...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was actually the very first recipe bread machine I tried, and it was phenomenal! Now this pumpernickel has become a staple in my house. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was very good and smelled delicious while it was baking. I didn't use the carraway seeds...though I will next time. I might also try blackstrap molasses as other's suggested. Maybe with the addition of those two ingredients it will have a stronger pumpernickle taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Pretty good. I reduced the cocoa powder to 2.5 tbsp, per recommendations. Next time I'll reduced the caraway seeds (and I love caraway seeds). I prepared the dough and let it rise in the bread maker and baked it in the oven at 350 for 45 min. I think I'll reduced the baking time by 5-10 min next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States