Bread Machine Pumpernickel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
My husband is a pumpernickel bread fan so I thought I would try this recipes (I really like using my bread machine). Other than the top of the loaf being very hard, he really enjoyed it. Said that it was a "keeper". (note: I didn't use caraway seeds or gluten as I did not have any on hand)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeeKum

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
My son loved this! I made it as dough and let it rise and baked it in the oven. Came out very very good! (I left out the caraway and gluten)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
It was good . Nice and easy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I have been searching for a bread to compare with the bread they serve at Lone Star and this is it! I set my breadmaker for need and first rise / formed the dough into a loaf and baked at 400 degrees for 30 min. The loaf was perfect! Thank you for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I'm not sure what I did wrong but the bread was just crumbs and didn't turn into proper dough, so I added more water. When it was finished baking it became a very hard loaf...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was actually the very first recipe bread machine I tried, and it was phenomenal! Now this pumpernickel has become a staple in my house. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was very good and smelled delicious while it was baking. I didn't use the carraway seeds...though I will next time. I might also try blackstrap molasses as other's suggested. Maybe with the addition of those two ingredients it will have a stronger pumpernickle taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Pretty good. I reduced the cocoa powder to 2.5 tbsp, per recommendations. Next time I'll reduced the caraway seeds (and I love caraway seeds). I prepared the dough and let it rise in the bread maker and baked it in the oven at 350 for 45 min. I think I'll reduced the baking time by 5-10 min next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was my first attempt at pumpernickel and it turned out very good. The finished product tasted a bit too much like cocoa and will make some adjustments in the next round. I added the caraway seeds and felt they were a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Great recipe. Loved it and will make it again. Very hearty. Good with soup and toast. THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave from Grand Rapids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States