Bread Machine Pumpernickel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
We all thought that this was a wonderful bread. I didn't use the caraway seed or the vital wheat gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I've used this twice now, and it's a very good place to start. Makes a good basic pumpernickel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Crazy Awesome! Super easy! Great as an overnight timer recipe! (for a warm Pumpernickle hugged bacon and egg breakfast sandwich.) I have made this Pumpernickel recipe many times now. It is my all time favorite bread. Although it is excellent on it's own, it shines best when it is used to make the perfect ham and turkey sandwich! A few hints for using this recipe: 1. Use the light crust setting if you have that option on your machine. Medium and dark make the crust too crispy for Pumpernickel. 2. This is a very stiff dough; at the beginning of the final rise, you may want to help shape it a bit to ensure it expands into the bottom of the pan. This will prevent a mis-shaped loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBQKing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I made this before work today and realized about three hours later I forgot to add the cup of wheat flour. I got home and found it slightly flat and dense but with a good texture, perfect for soup (I made it to eat with clam chowder). Alone it had a very strong caraway flavor but it went great with the clam chowder. I did use caraway seeds and vital wheat gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Wonderful! Made my second loaf this morning. The first loaf was a bit on the dry side, and didn't rise quite as much as I would have liked. I had to shape the loaf a bit before the machine baked it, or it would have been pretty misshapen. I made a couple of changes on today's loaf. First off, I proofed the yeast in about 11/3 c. water. I followed the recipe as written, but did keep an eye on the dough to see if it looked dry. I ended up adding a couple more splashes of water and ended up with a much better looking loaf that was much more moist. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Johnson Hendrix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
WOWZA!! This was some good bread!! Made the dough in the bread machine, then baked in the oven, as I do all my bread!! This will be a repeat for sure!! Thanks Marylyn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Suzie the Foodie
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was a moist and delicate loaf of pumpernickel bread which tends to be coarse and dry. I found the smell of cocoa a little weird but then realized this is a very creative way to give it that dark colour without using blackened sugar. I love that there are healthy flours used in this bread so I feel less guilty while eating it. The caraway seeds add wonderful rustic flavour. I made croutons of this bread in the shape of bats for my Halloween crouton post. Terrific on my roasted squash soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie the Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This bread is AMAZING. My husband couldn't stop eating it. Use the caraway seeds - I think they make a huge difference. I may have put in more molasses (the jar kind of slipped when I was pouring) but it worked!!! I'll make this one a LOT! And it's so easy. You'd never guess it came from a bread machine (Zoji in this case).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Lawson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great flavor, great bread, but a little denser than I'd like it. That said, I did not add the vital wheat gluten. Next time I will do that and may also increase the kneading or rising times to try to get a slightly lighter texture. I thought the amount of cocoa and caraway was just right. It is flavorful enough to be pumpernickel (and to blend well with meats or cheeses) but still mild enough that it tastes great with butter and jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
best bread i've made in my bread machine yet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Parus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States