Bread Machine Pumpernickel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Pretty good. I used 1 1/2 c bread flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour because that is what I had. I didn't use any wheat gluten or caraway seeds since I didn't have those either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Excellent! I only used two tablespoons cocoa and half honey/half molasses since I did not want as strong flavored pumpernickel. This recipe can be used to make rye bread, too. Just leave out the coca and use honey instead of molasses. I made one recipe of each, cut a third off each loaf and made marbled rye/pumpernickel by flattening the pieces and rolling them up jelly roll style. All three loaves were a big hit at a family dinner - they would not let me bring any home so I had to make another loaf for us to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I'm kind of new to this. I've been bread machining for 5 months now. I've been looking for a good pumpernickel recipe. I tried 4. One really sucked. 3 others that were OK, but my wife didn't care for them. JACKPOT = This one is wonderful & my wife loved it. Great texture (I used the gluten) & taste. Do use the caraway seeds, they're a nice touch. I made it yesterday morning & it's gone now with only wife & I eating it, couldn't get enough. Went great with my wife's bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fredjbuck

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was OK, though I thought it was too much molasses flavor. I would decrease that next time. I also decreased the cocoa by half and omitted the gluten because I didn't have any. I subbed flax seed for 1 tablespoon of the oil, too. I don't have a bread machine, so I had to change it up a little to bake it like normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe, I'm making second loaf in as many days. My husband usually doesn't like bread but eats it out of necessity, but with this bread he is looking for ways to eat it. Well done!! I did leave out the wheat Gluten though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Turned out great. My bread maker slightly overdid the crust on the default medium crust setting. I'll probably do a light crust next time. I'll be making this one again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
tasted great, but it didn't rise. Stayed very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
We all thought that this was a wonderful bread. I didn't use the caraway seed or the vital wheat gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I've used this twice now, and it's a very good place to start. Makes a good basic pumpernickel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Crazy Awesome! Super easy! Great as an overnight timer recipe! (for a warm Pumpernickle hugged bacon and egg breakfast sandwich.) I have made this Pumpernickel recipe many times now. It is my all time favorite bread. Although it is excellent on it's own, it shines best when it is used to make the perfect ham and turkey sandwich! A few hints for using this recipe: 1. Use the light crust setting if you have that option on your machine. Medium and dark make the crust too crispy for Pumpernickel. 2. This is a very stiff dough; at the beginning of the final rise, you may want to help shape it a bit to ensure it expands into the bottom of the pan. This will prevent a mis-shaped loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBQKing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States