Bread Machine Pumpernickel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Horrible, it was a brick and I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Moltisanti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shirley, New York, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This bread was wonderful. I made it exactly as the recipe stated, omitting only the gluten. I also stopped my bread machine 15 mins early and the bread came out perfectly. It didn't last long! I cant wait to make some to share with friends and family~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Schroyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Really delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, didn't use either the gluten or caraway seeds. The loaf is a little squat-looking but tastes wonderful. Will make with both ingredients next time for comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Really yummy - good flavor, and not too strong. I made the dough in the bread machine and then transferred it to a greased loaf pan and baked at 350 for 45 minutes. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Outstanding!! I followed the recommendations of some others and increased the water to 1 1/3 cup, used 2 cups of bread flour and only 1/2 cup of whole wheat, and used the light crust setting. I also reduced the cocoa to 2 tablespoons. I'm also a big believer in using the vital wheat gluten. The result was a very well-risen loaf with a fantastic texture and moistness. I don't see a need to alter a thing on the next loaf from those mentioned above. Can't wait to make a sandwich with some ham, turkey, and cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
So far this is the closest thing to what I call 'real pumpernickel' that I have found for a bread machine. It turned out near perfect, except for being just the slightest bit doughy in the center. I used the basic cycle as suggested, but maybe for my machine the whole wheat cycle would be better. Still a great loaf of bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Perfect! Moist and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODIBRONSONNIMS
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This is by far the best Pumpernickel Bread recipe!! I will be making this a lot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Excellent. Made exactly as is, and used blackstrap molasses - I will let it sit for a few minutes in the machine after it's done so it can "finish" because the middle was under-cooked, but otherwise it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Great dark bread. Do NOT use the quick cycle on bread machine like another person suggested. Mine was either too moist or not done enough. I use 1/4 cup extra of water to dissolve molasis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States