Bread Machine Pumpernickel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I'm not sure what I did wrong but the bread was just crumbs and didn't turn into proper dough, so I added more water. When it was finished baking it became a very hard loaf...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was actually the very first recipe bread machine I tried, and it was phenomenal! Now this pumpernickel has become a staple in my house. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was very good and smelled delicious while it was baking. I didn't use the carraway seeds...though I will next time. I might also try blackstrap molasses as other's suggested. Maybe with the addition of those two ingredients it will have a stronger pumpernickle taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Pretty good. I reduced the cocoa powder to 2.5 tbsp, per recommendations. Next time I'll reduced the caraway seeds (and I love caraway seeds). I prepared the dough and let it rise in the bread maker and baked it in the oven at 350 for 45 min. I think I'll reduced the baking time by 5-10 min next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was my first attempt at pumpernickel and it turned out very good. The finished product tasted a bit too much like cocoa and will make some adjustments in the next round. I added the caraway seeds and felt they were a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Great recipe. Loved it and will make it again. Very hearty. Good with soup and toast. THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave from Grand Rapids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I don't know what went wrong. I made this bread exactly as written using the "optional" ingredients. My husband felt it had too much of a "rye" flavor but I think it's the caraway seeds that were too much (and I am a fan of caraway). It's an okay bread...made for decent toast but as a sandwich bread it was disappointing. I really wanted to love it based on all the wonderful reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5THSISTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This bread is amazing. The texture, aroma & color are perfect. For the liquid, I used a combo of potato water (from draining potatoes for mashing) and leftover coffee. After reading "Best Bread Machine Bread" on this site, I tried adding the molasses and yeast to the warm liquid and let the yeast bloom for 10 minutes before adding remaining ingredients. Our first loaf is almost gone. For the second loaf I added 3/4 cup raisins dusted in some of the flour. I put raisins in at beginning of cycle, increased caraway seeds to 2 Tbls. and salt to 2 tsp. and let bread machine do its thing. The texture of the second loaf is even better than the first. My husband, a native New Yorker accustomed to excellent deli bread, gives this bread high praise. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattycake
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
super yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is by far the best pumpernickel recipe I've ever made. I halved the recipe portions, and it was the perfect size for a small dip/soup bowl! If you like the hearty, molasses flavor of pumpernickel, you should try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States