Bread Machine Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
My family loves this pizza dough. I was having trouble w/it not as crispy as my family likes so I bake it for 5 mins., take it out of the oven and then we dress it up w/toppings and put it back in. It's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Very good recipe, measurements are "just right", but for a bit more flavor...add 1 tsp. garlic powder, and 1 tsp. basil to dry ingredients. I was in a bit of a time crunch, and couldn't wait the 2.5 hours so here are a few tips... Let the bread machine kneed the dough until a soft, smooth ball forms, 5-10 minutes. Then, turn bread machine off and place the dough into a bowl lightly covered with olive oil or cooking spray. Put a damp towel over the bowl, and set the entire bowl in a warm place - such as an oven that has been "warmed" and shut off. Let dough rise for 30 minutes, punch it down and then roll out r toss. Let rest for 2-3 minutes, then transfer to pan or stone, and bake. Saves you almost 1.5 hours, including bake time!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was my first pizza dough I made in my new bread machine. I didn't have any beer since we don't drink and didn't feel like running to the liquor store with my 3 girls (all 4 years and younger). So I decided to use a can of generic Cream Soda I had in the fridge. I stirred it up for a while to remove the carbonation and threw it all in the machine as instructed (also added garlic powder and dried basil). I followed advice of another reviewer and baked crust alone for about 5 minutes then added toppings and finished baking for about 15 additional minutes. The crust's texture was excellent, the flavor was very good although I could taste the cream soda a little. I will definitely make again but with beer next time! Make this, you will love it! (Oh and it makes one thick crust pizza the size of a normal round Pizza stone)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michigan Mommy
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This is probably the best bread machine pizza crust I've ever made, and we make a lot of home made pizza! I really love this recipe and will use it as our regular pizza night dough. I don't know what the best part of this dough is, the fact that it is to silky soft but not sticky and really easy to work with, or the perfect flavor and texture after baking! This made one big 16 by 14 cookie sheet sized pizza. After the 25 minutes baking I slid the pizza off the pan and directly onto the oven rack for a minute to crisp up the bottom because I used an insulated baking sheet -- great for cookies because it prevents the bottoms from burning, but not ideal for pizza because you want the bottom crispy. Thank you so much for posting this recipe, and thank you to Chikee for recommending it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Yowza!!!!! This was OUTSTANDING! Made this for a friend and I and used all whole wheat flour and Coors Light beer. Added freshly minced garlic and about 2 T of dried basil to the dough and then cooked it on the grill. Used what was left as some breadsticks that we drizzled with a little butter. Absolutely wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Excellent, easy, but does have a very beery flavor. The dough seemed very sticky when I started shaping the pizza, but got better as it was worked. I didn't have a pizza stone or pan handy, so with a tip from my brother (the expert pizza guy) I preheated a heavy cookie sheet in the oven, and formed the pizza on parchment paper--then just slid the pizza on the parchment onto the hot cookie sheet. Easy! The crust overall was a little thicker than I like, I think next time I may split the dough in half and make two thinner crust pizzas, but that's just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I've made a lot of pizzas and can easily say this is one of the best tasting pizza crusts I have made. Used a cup of Sam Adam's White Ale which I whipped for a minute to get rid of the carbonation and followed the recipe to a T. Super easy and great flavor. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Good recipe! I like to add a teaspoon of italian seasoning to give it some flavour. I love being able to make my own pizza from scratch - so much cheaper. I made it with flat ginger ale instead of beer once - made a great base for a Thai chicken pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I LOVE the flavor of this pizza crust! Rich and yeasty and beer-y, YUM!! My tips for making it a little crisper: Brush the entire crust with a little olive oil before you add your toppings, then pre-bake for 5-6 minutes. Remove from oven, top as desired, and bake again until melty and yummy. If you're like me and LOVE a ton of fresh veggies on your pizza, try this to reduce the water that cooks out of them and makes your crust soggy: Put mushrooms, peppers, onions, whatever you're using in a bowl and zap them for no more than a couple of minutes in the microwave, then let them rest, covered, for a bit. They'll partially cook and you'll be amazed at the amount of liquid you can drain off BEFORE you add them to your yummy pizza crust! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
WOW! An outstanding pizza crust. This IS the one I have been looking for. I cooked ours on a stone at 550 deg F for 6 min and it came out great. This will be our new pizza recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States