Bread Machine Honey-Oat-Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is the best wheat bread recipe I've ever made! Love it! I did swap olive oil for the vegetable oil since we don't use vegetable oil. And I divided it into two pans because of some of the reviews. It was so soft and just the right sweetness! Definitely a keeper! Going to try it w honey instead of the sugar and a bit more wheat flour in place of some of the white to see if I can make a sturdier sandwich bread but as a dinner type bread the way it is is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Sparks, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I loved the flavor of this bread, but . . .it was incredibly crumbly. As in, it was difficult to eat as toast, spread things on it, or eat as sandwiches. A tad disappointing, as the flavor was awesome, but it just didn't quite work for me. I may try this again later with different flour to see if that is the culprit. As others noted, this makes two loaves, not one, of bread, so keep that in mind. Thanks for the recipe@
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alkinbu
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I have only been baking bread for a little over a year, and normally if I even look at my whole wheat flour while baking my loaf turns out like a brick. Followed this recipe to the letter using my "Zoe" machine and it turned out great. Nice crust (used an egg wash) and light and fluffy crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alkinbu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This really IS a dense, heavy bread. I was a little surprised by just how dense! That said, it has a wonderful flavor and is much easier to slice more thinly than most other breads I normally make. It is easier to toast, to make sandwiches etc....I did make a few changes....Rather than vegetable oil I used applesauce, 2 cups AP flour and 2 cups whole wheat, 1 additional tablespoon powdered milk, 1/2 cup orange blossom honey, and eliminated the white sugar. I did make it start to finish in my bread machine and it didnt get squished at all....it was a perfect loaf! My family really likes this a lot...I slice it and let them drizzle the Orange Blossom Honey on it....very, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I'm so glad I started using my bread machine again! This is the first bread I tried and I hit a home run. My husband and I ate 1/2 the loaf as soon as it cooled down enough to eat. I used the recipe as originally written. I can't see how it could get better than this. Epicurean envoy, thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee_Reed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This is my go to recipe for twice weekly bread for my family. I have a 2lb Zojirushi machine, but the full recipe hits the top and messes up the crust. It also doesn't fit into sandwich bags at that size. I adjust the servings down to 8, and the loaf is the perfect size. I also replace the white sugar with additional honey, and I add a tablespoon of vital wheat gluten to the mix to help combat the heaviness of the oats and wheat. I love the bread, and my kids have no idea they aren't eating straight white bread. One loaf lasts us for three days of lunches with two kids. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Did the whole thing in my bread machine that can do up to 2.5lbs but it was too big. Flavor pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
The flavor was good but a tad too sweet for our taste. The worst offense however was the fact that this was waaaay too much dough for one 9x5 pan. It flowed way over the sides making the loaf really wide. I followed the recipe as written and the loaf also squished when cutting the slices making the already wide loaf flattened to boot. I may try again cutting the sugar back to 1 tsp. and dividing the bread into two loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This is a fantastic bread! I made a few changes based on my personal preference and what I had available in my pantry. My changes do not reflect the quality of the recipe, however. So here they are: I reduced the sugar to 1 Tbsp, reduced the white flour to 2 cups and increased the wheat flour to 2 cups. I used half water and half milk to proof the yeast in, as I did not have any powdered milk in my pantry. This does make a huge overflowing loaf in a 9 x 5 pan, so I will use 2/ 9x5 pans next time. This is the best homemade bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d.anna.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynden, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
We make this bread every few days - we're so addicted that we barely buy bread anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States