Bread Machine Honey-Oat-Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I am a complete newbie to bread making and wanted to find an easy recipe to start with. This recipe is AMAZING! I have now made it twice exactly to the recipe, and each time the bread came out perfectly. I've even impressed my family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This bread is moist and delicious! My whole family oohed and aahed over it! I made the whole thing in the breadmaker. My breadmaker can make loaves up to 2.5 pounds and this recipe fit perfectly without a problem. The only alteration I made to the recipe is that I replaced 1 cup of all purpose flour with 1 cup of bread flour (as I didn't have enough all-purpose). It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I baked this bread this morning and it is very nice and looks beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Super yummy! I made it exactly how recipe said and the bread is soft and delicious. It is my new favorite bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I adjusted this recipe for my Oster bread machine by decreasing the water to 1 1/4 cups and used 1 cup white all purpose flour and 2 cups whole wheat flour. I find bread machines are a great time saver so I let it do all the work! Not quite sure why some would go to all the trouble of finishing it in the oven but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This bread is very tasty when it's complete. It isn't truly "bread machine" bread, though. Yes, the dough is mixed in the machine. I do this on a regular basis, then bake my loaves in the oven. Just this once, I'd planned to bake the bread in the machine, but didn't notice the part about putting it in the oven until I'd already started adding the ingredients to the pan. Being a "bread machine" recipe, I chose to add the ingredients to the pan as I always do. I followed the ingredients for the most part. I didn't have powdered milk, so I used skim milk in place of water. I also added 4 tsp. of vital wheat gluten to the flour. When the dough was done rising, I realized very quickly it was too much for one bread pan. (Other reviewers have mentioned this as well.) I divided it into two parts and placed each in a 9x5 bread pan. I dampened the top of each loaf and sprinkled on some oats before covering the loaves. After the one-hour rise, the loaves were both well above the tops of the pans. The bread was done baking in 25 minutes and was nice and light, not at all dense. The loaves did sink a little as they cooled. As stated, the bread is very good, but the directions are definitely off. I'm wondering if this is a misprint by the editors or intentional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I have tried many bread machine reipes and this is by far the best I have ever tasted. I made a loaf this morning following the directions exactly and it's already gone.My kids are already begging me to make another loaf. I am going to make another this evening using the bread machine for the whole process. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Vermont, USA
Living In: East Falmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Great bread! I did make the whole thing in the breadmaker and while it was a large (and very tall) loaf, it remained contained and cooked properly. I did not have any powdered milk on hand, so I left it out. I'm sure that's the reason I had to add a bit more flour during mixing to reduce the stickiness. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This bread is light, fluffy and delicious. I made the whole thing in the bread maker that I borrowed. It didn't touch the top of the window. Perfection. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
First off, I have this 4 stars not because of the taste, it was delicious, but because this makes a HUGE loaf to fit in one bread pan. I had to re-read the recipe to make sure I did it correctly. Did anyone else have this problem? I am going to try this again and put it into two pans, as my pan was basically full to the top before it even rose and ended up overflowing when baked. Also inside parts were not baked enough, where outside was dark, due to the mere size of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States